Duncan named to Lott Watch List

LUBBOCK, Texas - Texas Tech junior linebacker Brian Duncan (Baton Rouge, La./Tara) was named to the Lott Trophy Watch List on Tuesday, joining 41 other top defensive players from around the country that will vie for the prestigious postseason honor.

Duncan led the Red Raiders with 95 tackles during Texas Tech's memorable 11-2 run in 2008. Averaging 7.3 tackles per game, Duncan paced a much improved defensive unit that ranked among the top half of Big 12 Conference defenses. Additionally, he was one of 22 collegiate football players across all divisions recognized on the Allstate AFCA Good Works Team during the 2009 Sugar Bowl for his philanthropic efforts in the Lubbock community.

Texas Tech kicks off the 2009 season Sept. 5 against North Dakota at Jones AT&T Stadium. For ticket information, click here.

Named after NFL Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football's Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year. Now in its sixth year, The Lott Trophy is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

David Pollack of Georgia won the initial Lott Trophy in 2004.  DeMeco Ryans of Alabama won the award in 2005, Daymeion Hughes of Cal was the recipient in 2006, Glenn Dorsey of LSU in 2007 and James Laurinaitis of Ohio State last year.  Georgia, Alabama, Cal, LSU and Ohio State have each received $25,000 for their general scholarship funds.  In five years, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation has now donated nearly $650,000 to various charities, including the four universities.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media; previous finalists; the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation; the IMPACT Foundation Board of Advisors, comprised of many retired NFL players; and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

The winner will be announced at a gala black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Calif., Dec. 13th, 2009.

For further information on The Lott Trophy, click here.

Source: TTU