Kipyego, Crabtree named Athletes of Year at TECHspys

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - Former Texas Tech wide receiver Michael Crabtree and nine-time NCAA Champion Sally Kipyego were named the Male and Female Athletes of the Year Monday night at the first TECHspy Awards held at the United Spirit Arena.

One of the most prolific receivers in school history, Crabtree garnered consensus All-America status during both his seasons as a Red Raider, while setting numerous school and NCAA records on his way to being named a two-time Biletnikoff Award winner. He received the award over fellow football teammate Graham Harrell, golfer Garrett Merrell and basketball player Alan Voskuil.

Kipyego is likely the most-decorated athlete in school history after her historic run at nine NCAA individual championships over her three-year career as a Red Raider. Kipyego was only defeated twice during that span at the collegiate level, while rewriting the school record book in virtually every distance race. Volleyball's Amanda Dowdy, soccer's Brittney Harrison, basketball's Dominic Seals, and women's tennis player Samantha van der Drift were also nominated.

In the night's other awards, the football team won Men's Team of the Year, following its historic 11-2 campaign and Cotton Bowl berth, while the cross country team won the women's award after winning the program's first Big 12 Championship.

After leading the women's cross country team to a school-best seventh place finish at the NCAA Championships, Jon Murray was named the Women's Coach of the Year, while football coach Mike Leach was the recipient on the men's side.

The night's remaining honors were presented to strength and conditioning coach Katie Munger for athletic administration recognition, and a Red Raiders Congeniality award to track and field athlete Patience Knight.

The awards were voted on by participating student-athletes, coaches, and athletic department employees. The TECHspys, while only in its first year, is hoped to become an annual event coordinated by the Athletic Academic Services department.

Source: TTU