Crabtree drafted by the San Francisco 49ers

LUBBOCK, TEXAS (KCBD) - Throw in a heaping helping of anticipation with an unexpected dash of patience and you'll find the recipe for the NFL Draft. Texas Tech's Michael Crabtree, the highest-rated wide receiver in this year's draft, was selected by the San Francisco 49ers with the tenth overall selection Saturday at the annual event in New York City.

Reports throughout the days leading up to the draft projected Crabtree anywhere from second to eighth, but when those picks came and went, the two-time consensus All-American didn't show concern. He told ESPN reporter Erin Andrews that one thing he's learned is that patience is something associated with the NFL.

Regardless of his draft position, Crabtree is the second-highest player in school history selected in the NFL Draft, behind former Tech All-American and NFL Pro Bowl player Dave Parks, who was the overall top pick in 1964 by San Francisco.

Crabtree is the sixth player in school history to be taken in the first round as he joins an impressive group of former Red Raiders, including Walter Schlinkmann (1945), Parks, Donny Anderson (1965), Ted Watts (1981) and Gabe Rivera (1983), who was the last player selected in the opening round. Additionally, the 49ers have previously taken five Red Raiders, including Bill Herchman (1956), Parks, Gary Golden (1969), Dan Irons (1978) and Kevin Curtis (2002).

Throughout Texas Tech's 85-year football history, eight wide receivers have been drafted to the professional ranks, including the first, Bake Turner, in 1962. Others include Roger Gill (1963), Parks, Lawrence Williams (1975), Derrell "Mookie" Mitchell (1994), Carlos Francis (2004) and Joel Filani (2007).

Crabtree finished his Tech career as the most decorated receiver in school history after amassing 3,127 yards and 41 touchdowns in only two seasons. He set NCAA freshman records in 2007 with 22 touchdowns, 1,962 yards and 134 receptions en route to his first of two Biletnikoff Awards. Crabtree is Texas Tech's only two-time unanimous consensus All-American after being named to the AFCA, Walter Camp, Sporting News, Associated Press and Football Writers Association of America All-American first teams.