2009 Doak Walker Award candidates announced - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


2009 Doak Walker Award candidates announced


DALLAS, TEXAS - The Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum announced today candidates for the 2009 Doak Walker Award. The award is presented annually to the nation's top college running back.

The field of candidates includes the nation's leading returning rusher, MiQuale Lewis, from Ball State. Other candidates include the leading returning rushers from the Pac 10 (Jahvid Best, California, Berkley); the Big 12 (Kendal Hunter, Oklahoma State) and the ACC (Jonathan Dwyer, Georgia Tech).

The complete list of candidates, who were nominated by their universities, follows:

  • Armando Allen (Jr.), Notre Dame
  • AndrĂ© Anderson (Sr.), Tulane
  • Reggie Arnold (Sr.), Arkansas State
  • Baron Batch (Jr.), Texas Tech
  • Jahvid Best (Jr.), California, Berkeley
  • LeGarrette Blount (Sr.), Oregon
  • Chris Brown (Sr.), Oklahoma
  • Donald Buckram (Jr.), UTEP
  • John Clay (So.), Wisconsin
  • DaJuane Collins (Sr.), Toledo
  • Jeff Demps (So.), Florida
  • Noel Devine (Jr.), West Virginia
  • Andre Dixon (Sr.), Connecticut
  • Shaun Draughn (Jr.), North Carolina
  • Jonathan Dwyer (Jr.), Georgia Tech
  • Jamelle Eugene (Sr.), North Carolina State
  • Darren Evans (So.), Virginia Tech
  • Damion Fletcher (Sr.), Southern Mississippi
  • Toby Gerhart (Sr.), Stanford
  • Cyrus Gray (So.), Texas A&M
  • Nicolas (Nic) Grigsby (Jr.), Arizona
  • DuJuan Harris (Jr.), Troy
  • Roy Helu, Jr. (Jr.), Nebraska
  • Dan Herron (So.), Ohio State
  • Kendall Hunter (Jr.), Oklahoma State
  • Mark Ingram (So.), Alabama
  • Eugene Jarvis (Sr.), Kent State
  • MiQuale Lewis (Sr.), Ball State
  • Darius Marshall (Jr.), Marshall
  • Brandon Minor (Sr.), Michigan
  • DeMarco Murray (Jr.), Oklahoma
  • Daniel Porter (Sr.), Louisiana Tech
  • Jacquizz Rodgers (So.), Oregon State
  • Charles Scott (Sr.), LSU
  • Da'Rel Scott (Jr.), Maryland
  • Jake Sharp (Sr.), Kansas
  • Michael Smith (Sr.), Arkansas
  • C.J. Spiller (Sr.), Clemson
  • James Starks (Sr.), Buffalo
  • Curtis Steele (Sr.), Memphis
  • Phillip Tanner (Sr.), Middle Tennessee State
  • Vai Taua (Jr.), Nevada
  • Jordan Todman (So.), Connecticut
  • Joseph Turner (Sr.), TCU
  • Brandon West (Sr.), Western Michigan

The Guaranty Bank SMU Athletic Forum Board of Directors will select the semifinalists on November 11, and the Doak Walker Award National Selection Committee will cast votes to determine the finalists, who will be announced on November 23. The committee will cast a second vote beginning on November 30 to determine the recipient. The National Selection Committee consists of former NFL All-Pro and college All-America running backs, media members and selected special representatives.

Powered by WorldNow

5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX. 79404

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KCBD. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.