TTU to honor graduates; ceremony to be streamed online - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


TTU to honor graduates; ceremony to be streamed online

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - Texas Tech University will award diplomas to 2,064 students Friday and Saturday.

The ceremony begins at 4:00 p.m. in the United Spirit Arena on Friday. The ceremony is free and parking is free.

The Undergraduate commencement ceremonies are scheduled for 9 a.m. and 1:30 p.m. Saturday (Dec. 19), in the United Spirit Arena.

The Texas Tech School of Law hooding ceremony is at 5 p.m. Saturday in the Student Union Building's Allen Theater.

You can see the commencement ceremonies from home this year, as they will be streamed on the internet. You can see the graduation by clicking here, or by clicking the link provided on the page.

Outstanding students will carry banners representing their respective colleges. Administrators selected the banner bearers based on all-around achievement.

The banner bearers are:

  • Kristen Farrington Hillger, agricultural and applied economics, San Antonio, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources
  • Micah Ross Henry, architecture, Midland, College of Architecture
  • Darci Dianne Barney, microbiology and mathematics, Lubbock, College of Arts and Sciences
  • Leslee Dayne Schneider, multidisciplinary studies, Bosque Farms, N.M., College of Education
  • Amanda Rae Gordon, mechanical engineering, San Antonio, Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering
  • Katy L. Taylor, nutritional science, Midland (morning ceremony), and Kelly O'Neill, political science, Dallas (afternoon ceremony), Honors College
  • Holly Leigh Erica Lambert, human development and family studies, Amarillo, College of Human Sciences
  • Ashley Nicole Hoptay, public relations/business, Plano, College of Mass Communications
  • Katy Wright, honors studies, Colleyville, College of Outreach and Distance Education
  • Alyssa Kelly Boren, international business/Spanish minor, Amarillo, Rawls College of Business
  • Kristen Margaret Briggs, general studies, Lubbock, College of Visual and Performing Arts

Selected to carry the banner for the Graduate School is Robert C. Schaller from Lubbock, who this semester receives his doctor of philosophy in Mass Communications.

Also recognized during commencement exercises will be bachelor's degree candidates with the highest grade-point-averages in their respective colleges. Highest ranking December graduates for each college are:

  • Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources: Hillger
  • Architecture: Henry
  • Arts and Sciences: Juliet Yassamin Azarani, political science, Lake Dallas; Michael Benjamin Henderson, social work, Lubbock; Ruiyang Jiang, biochemistry, Tianjin, China; Bonnie Jean Krejci, English, Denton; and Tiffany Nicole Parrish, psychology and sociology, Largo Vista
  • Education: Schneider
  • Edward E. Whitacre Jr. College of Engineering: Gordon
  • Human Sciences: Lambert, and Christopher Grady McLain, human development and family studies, Vernon
  • Mass Communications: Hoptay; Jessica Elaine Benham, public relations, San Angelo; and Elizabeth Dean Elliott, journalism, Temple
  • Rawls College of Business: Boren; Hoptay; Ashley D. Ahlgren, accounting, Richland, Wash.; Benjamin Bahlmann, accounting, Houston; Erin D'Ann Dipprey, accounting, Hale Center; Andrew Thomas Silverthorn, accounting, El Paso; Brant E. Wischnewsky, accounting/music minor, Tomball; and James A. Davis, management, Cypress
  • Outreach and Distance Education: Wright
  • Visual and Performing Arts: Briggs
Powered by Frankly