Finnish composer Saariaho wins Sonning Music Prize - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


Finnish composer Saariaho wins Sonning Music Prize


Finnish composer Kaija Saariaho has won Denmark's highest musical honor, the 600,000 kroner ($110,000) Sonning Music Prize.

The award committee says Saariaho is "one of the most outstanding composers of our time."

The Leonie Sonning Music Foundation says she "has created transparent, vibrant and expressive new music."

The committee said Monday that the 57-year-old, who lives in Paris, will receive the award during a concert in Copenhagen on May 5, 2011.

The prize ishas been awarded annually since 1959 to an internationally renowned composer, musician, conductor or singer.

Previous winners include Leonard Bernstein, Mstislav Rostropovich, Anne-Sophie Mutter and Daniel Barenboim.

Source: AP

Powered by WorldNow

5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX. 79404

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KCBD. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.