Sisler, Surhoff elected to College Baseball HOF - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


Sisler, Surhoff elected to College Baseball HOF

LUBBOCK, TX (AP) - Former AL MVP George Sisler and big league All-Star B.J. Surhoff are among 10 players and coaches elected for the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Joining them Thursday are Alan Bannister (Arizona State), Eddy Furniss (LSU), Don Heinkel (Wichita State), Dave Magadan (Alabama), Charles Teague (Wake Forest) and Richard Wortham (Texas), as well as former Fresno State coach Bob Bennett and Cerritos College coach Wally Kincaid.

Sisler, also a member of the National Baseball Hall of Fame, starred at the University of Michigan from 1913-15 before a 15-year major league career that was highlighted by winning the 1922 AL MVP award.

Surhoff played at North Carolina from 1983-85 and was the national player of the year in his final season.

Source: AP

Powered by Frankly