TTU women's golf earns NCAA Regional Tournament berth

LUBBOCK, TX In just her first season as the head coach of Texas Tech's women's golf team, JoJo Robertson has the Lady Raiders back in the NCAA Tournament.

Texas Tech will head to the East Regional hosted by East Carolina University as the 14th seed. The Lady Raiders will tee off in the first round of play beginning at 11:30 a.m. (CT) on May 6.

"We are really excited for to earn a berth in this year's NCAA tournament," Robertson said. "I am really proud of the girls this season and how they have progressed. It is very rewarding."

The Lady Raiders are coming off a fifth place finish in the Big 12 Conference Championship and moved up six spots this year after finishing 11th in the 2009 championships held at the Rawls Course.  Senior Rosalyn Kim was named to the all-tournament team for the second straight season after posting a seventh place finish with a three-day total of 223 (7-over par).

Texas Tech finished in the top five in five different tournaments this season including first place finish at the 2009 Heather Farr/CU Memorial Tournament back in early October.  Down the stretch, the squad picked up a second place finish at the Mountainview Invitational (March 26-27) and third place at the Baylor Spring Invitational (April 12-13) heading into the Big 12 Tournament.

Texas Tech is back in the NCAA Tournament for the first time since the 2008 season when the Lady Raiders finished 13th at the NCAA Central Regional in Austin.

East Carolina University will host the East Regional at the Ironwood Country Club golf course located in Greenville, N.C. on May 6-8 where a total of 24 teams will compete to advance to the 2010 NCAA Championships held in Wilmington, N.C., May 18-21. Eight teams from each of the three regionals will move on to play for the national title in Wilmington.

Seeds in the East Regional:
  1. Duke
  2. Auburn
  3. Wake Forest
  4. Pepperdine
  5. Vanderbilt
  6. Tennessee
  7. Florida
  8. TCU
  9. North Carolina
  10. South Carolina
  11. Tulane
  12. Chattanooga
  13. Washington
  14. Texas Tech
  15. Georgia State
  16. Campbell
  17. East Tennessee State
  18. Furman
  19. Coastal Carolina
  20. East Carolina
  21. College of Charleston
  22. Stetson
  23. Charleston Southern
  24. Farleigh Dickinson

Source: TTU