2010 Avista-NAIA World Series seedings & bracket announced

KANSAS CITY, Mo. – (BRACKET – PDF) The National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics (NAIA) has announced the official seedings and bracket for the 2010 Avista-NAIA World Series, hosted by Lewis-Clark State (Idaho) from May 28-June 4 in Lewiston, Idaho. The Warriors are the No. 1 seed and will have a bye on the first day. Lewis-Clark State, owners of an NAIA-record 16 World Series titles, has been the No. 1-ranked team in the Coaches' Top 25 Poll in all seven regular season rankings this season.

The first game of the World Series pits No. 7 Embry-Riddle (Fla.) against No. 10 Tennessee Wesleyan at 8:30 a.m. PDT on May 28. Lewis-Clark State awaits the winner of No. 8 Belhaven (Miss.) and No. 9 Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.), which will be played at Noon on May 28.

Defending national champion and No. 5 seed Lubbock Christian (Texas) will tangle with No. 4 Lee (Tenn.) in the third game of the first day at 3 p.m. The final contest of Day 1 has No. 3 California Baptist going against No. 6 Oklahoma City. No. 2 Cumberland (Tenn.) faces the winner of the Embry-Riddle and Tennessee Wesleyan game.

Two teams are making their first World Series appearance, Belhaven and Tennessee Wesleyan. Eight conferences are represented in the 10-team field led by the Golden State Athletic Conference and the Sooner Conference. Both leagues boast two programs apiece.

Lewis-Clark State owns the most wins all-time in the history of the event with a 117-33 record (.780) in 28 previous all-time appearances. Oklahoma City is making its 12th trip and third straight while Cumberland is competing in its 11th overall World Series and first since 2007.

The World Series is a double-elimination tournament with the winner being crowned either June 3 or June 4, dependent upon if the Champion team has to play in the Loser or Winner's Bracket. For ticket information in Lewiston, Idaho, contact the Lewis-Clark ticket booth at 208-792-2471 or visit here.

The World Series will be video-streamed live by NeuLion, the parent company of JumpTV. Users can purchase the All-Tournament pass, which includes every game for $24.95, or the day pass for $8.95. In order to view the streaming, click here.

World Series Notes: Three teams from the state of Tennessee will compete: No. 2 Cumberland, No. 4 Lee and No. 10 Tennessee Wesleyan… Lewiston, Idaho is playing host for the 19th overall time and 11th straight… Cumberland (Tenn.) owns the most wins this year in the 10-team field with a 53-9 record… The team with the fewest wins is No. 9 Point Loma Nazarene (Calif.) with a 38-18 mark… Behind Lewis-Clark State's NAIA record 117 World Series wins, Oklahoma City is next with 36 victories followed by Lubbock Christian (25) and Cumberland (24)… Six of the nine Opening Round champions this year were the No. 1 seed in each of their "Groups"… Among the current World Series field, four programs have won at least one World Series title, Lewis-Clark State (16) Lubbock Christian (2), Cumberland (1) and Oklahoma City (1)… Those same teams are the most recent winners going back to 2002, Lewis-Clark State (2002-03; 2006-08), Cumberland (2004), Oklahoma City (2005) and Lubbock Christian (2009)… This was the second year for the National Championship Opening Round tournaments – prior to 2009, there were seven Super Regional tournaments with those champions, plus two-to-three at-large bids (dependent upon if Lewis-Clark State won) heading to Lewiston for the 10-team Avista-NAIA World Series.

2010 Avista-NAIA World Series Qualifiers (10)

Team (Overall Record) Qualification Apps* Record* WS Apps^ Titles

#8 Belhaven University (Miss.)
(43-15) Opening Round Group 9 Champion (Jackson, Miss.) 2nd 6-2 1st 0

#3 California Baptist University
(48-13) Opening Round Group 2 Champion (Riverside, Calif.) 2nd 5-2 2nd 0

#2 Cumberland University (Tenn.) (53-9) Opening Round Group 1 Champion (Joliet, Ill.) 12th 24-20 11th 1 (2004)

#7 Embry-Riddle Aeronautical University (Fla.) (44-17) Opening Round Group 7 Champion (Daytona Beach, Fla.) 9th 19-17 9th 0

#4 Lee University (Tenn.)
(49-11) Opening Round Group 3 Champion (Cleveland, Tenn.) 5th 14-8 5th 0

#1 Lewis-Clark State College (Idaho) (47-3) World Series Host Berth 29th 117-33 29th 16 (last in 2008)

#5 Lubbock Christian University (Texas) (46-14) Opening Round Group 4 Champion (Lubbock, Texas) 9th 25-16 9th 2 (1983, 2009)

#6 Oklahoma City University
(49-14) Opening Round Group 5 Champion (Oklahoma City, Okla.) 12th 36-21 12th 1 (2005)

#9 Point Loma Nazarene University (Calif.) (38-18) Opening Round Group 6 Champion (Fresno, Calif.) 5th 16-8 5th 0

#10 Tennessee Wesleyan College (46-16) Opening Round Group 8 Champion (Columbus, Ga.) 2nd 6-3 1st 0

* Includes National Championship Opening Rounds and World Series games

^ Appearances in World Series games only