New water hazards at Lakeridge Golf Course may move tournament - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


New water hazards at Lakeridge Golf Course may move tournament


By Tiffany Pelt - email

LUBBOCK, TX - The Lakeridge County Club Golf Course is still under water, some parts are as deep as five feet. Luckily, no equipment or homes were damaged by the flooding. However, the new water hazard has left at least 500 members without a place to play, and could cause a huge golfing tournament to relocate.

"This amount of water back in 1999 basically closed this golf course for five months, and we're looking at being open in five days," said Lakeridge head golf pro Bobby Brown.

The South West Drainage Project two years ago put in a gravity flow system to help with the massive flooding at the playa lakes in the Lakeridge area, and so far it's working. "Each lake on the front nine and the back nine is being lowered about a foot vertically so you've got roughly about 80 acres of water that is draining every single day," said Brown.

 Four of the greens that were under water Sunday are already clear and Brown hopes the rest of the golf course will be dry by Friday. Saturday and Sunday will be devoted to cleaning up all the debris brought in by the flooding, just in time to host the third annual golf tournament to benefit the Jerry Gray Foundation on Monday. "As of right now we're confident provided we don't get another complete soak from mother nature if she cooperates we should be good to go," said Brown.

Since the Jerry Gray Golf Tournament is such a huge fundraiser for the former Estacado Matador, retired NFL player and now Assistant Coach of the Seattle Seahawks, they say the tournament definitely will be played. If Lakeridge is not ready by Monday, the tournament will be moved to Meadowbrooke Golf Course in Mackenzie Park. They hope to raise around $25,000.

The four person scramble will begin with a shot-gun start at 1:00 p.m.  Lunch will be provided along with gifts and prizes.  After the tournament, the Sports Collectibles Auction will begin at approximately 5:30 p.m. This year, items autographed by the following will be auctioned to the highest bidder.

  • Payton Manning
  • Tony Dorsett
  • Michael Irving
  • Drew Brees
  • Brian Orakpo
  • Jason Witten
  • Donavan McNabb 
  • Colt McCoy
  • Roy Willliams
  • Michael Crabtree
  • Kevin Durrant            
  • Tony Romo
  • New Orleans Saint's autographed team helmet

©2010 KCBD NewsChannel 11. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly