LISD starts new Athletic Hall of Honor - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


LISD starts new Athletic Hall of Honor

Posted: Updated:

By Ben Lawson  - bio | email

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - The Lubbock Independent School District hopes to announce the first inductees into their new Athletic Hall of Honor this fall. The district just announced the creation of a board of directors for the hall of honor.

This is something that LISD Executive Director of Athletics Mark Ball wanted to form here in Lubbock.  He helped start a similar program at Wylie ISD when he was there, and says it was a great success.

"It meant a lot, the cards and letters I got from people that were inducted that lived in Pennsylvania or Washington that came down for the weekend, just how much they enjoyed that," Ball said. 

LISD announced their board of directors this week. It includes a member from all four Lubbock high schools, plus a representative from the former Dunbar High School, and 14-at large members, along with two representatives from central office administration.

They'll decide who will be inducted, but Ball says there will most likely be some form of public involvement.  Players in all sports in LISD since the beginning are eligible, so there are a lot of possibilities, but Ball says the program will also inspire current student athletes.

"I want to give our student athletes today something to aspire to, maybe that's a goal to be in the hall of honor one day," Ball said. 

Again, they hope to have their first inductees set this fall, but they're not sure when or how they'll be recognized.

The four high school representatives are: John Dudley, Coronado High School; Louis Kelly, Estacado High School; Dr. Bill Dean, Lubbock High School; Ron Bartley, Monterey High School, and Quincy White will represent Dunbar.

At-large members include: Gary Ashby, Gay Benson, Curry Blackwell, Carolyn Thompson Conwright, John Hill, Percy Hines, Larry Isaac, Patty Jones, E.C. Leslie, Matt Miller, Mack Owen, David Thetford, Woody VanDyke and Craig Wells. 

Mark Ball, executive director of Lubbock ISD athletics, as well as a representative from Lubbock ISD Central Office, Pat Johnston, will complete the board. 

David Thetford will serve on the Executive Committee as the chairman of the board.  In addition to Thetford, the Executive Committee will include: John Dudley, vice-chairman; Pat Johnston, secretary; and Matt Miller, treasurer.

Copyright 2010 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX. 79404

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KCBD. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.