Teams Announced For South Padre Island Invitational

LUBBOCK, TX - The South Padre Island Invitational, one of college basketball's elite Thanksgiving tournaments, has put together another stellar field that includes two teams which participated in the 2010 NCAA Tournament.

Coach Pat Knight's Red Raiders (19-16) feature seven seniors on their 2010-2011 roster including five of their top six scorers from last season. D'walyn Roberts was second on the last year's squad with 6.2 rebounds per game and averaged 7.0 points per game. Brad Reese had nine starts and played in all 35 games while averaging 7.5 points per outing. David Tairu was fourth on the team with 9.2 points per game.

Mike Singletary and John Roberson were the only two Red Raiders to start each game last season. John was second on the squad with 14.5 points per game. He enters his senior season with 1,347 career points and is 18th on Texas Tech's all-time scoring list. John led the 2009-2010 team with 190 assists after handing out 212 assists as a sophomore. He is the first Red Raider to total at least 500 career assists. Mike led last year's team with 15.0 points and 6.8 rebounds per game. After scoring 617 points in his first two seasons, the senior from Humble, Texas, tallied 525 points last season and begins his senior season in the 24th spot among all Texas Tech players with 1,142 points.

Brigham Young University (30-6), preseason ranked No. 15, returns three starters from last year's team.  Included in the lineup is All-American guard and one of the nation's leading scorers, Jimmer Fredette (22.1 ppg) and senior guard Jackson Emery (12.5 ppg). This guard tandem should prove to be one of the nation's best.

Saint Mary's College (28-6) returns three starters from last season's Sweet Sixteen appearance in the 2010 NCAA tournament. The Gaels will be led by the backcourt duo of Mickey McConnell and Matthew Dellavedova. As a junior, McConnell averaged 13.8 points per game and led the nation in 3-point shooting at 51 percent.

The University of South Florida (20-13) returns three starters from last year's surging basketball program. The Bulls will be led by the forward tandem of junior Augustus Gilchrist (13.4 ppg) and senior Jarrid Famous (10.4 ppg).

The field of eight teams includes Liberty University, Chicago State University, Mississippi Valley State University and Georgia Southern University. Each team will play four games with the first two contests at campus sites, and the final two rounds at the South Padre Island Convention Center on beautiful South Padre Island, Texas on November 26 and 27th.

Tournament passes are limited and can be purchased through the participating schools ticket offices, through the South Padre Island Convention Center Box Office (888) 774-8587 or online at

Source: TTU