TTU President Guy Bailey named to NCAA Board of Directors - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


TTU President Guy Bailey named to NCAA Board of Directors

Posted: Updated:

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - Guy Bailey, Texas Tech University president, has been appointed to represent the Big 12 Conference on the NCAA Division I Board of Directors. Bailey replaces University of Nebraska Chancellor Harvey Perlman.

In a news release issued Thursday morning, Bailey says "I am honored that my colleagues chose me to represent the conference on the NCAA board. I'm also proud to represent Texas Tech University in this prestigious position. I am looking forward to serving with the other board members."

The board is the division's principal leadership body, establishes general policy for the NCAA and has the final vote on measures affecting the membership. The board comprises presidents and chancellors from 18 conferences.

"This appointment is reflective of the strong leadership we have at Texas Tech University," said Gerald Myers, Texas Tech director of athletics. "The NCAA Division I Board of Directors is the most powerful group within the NCAA structure and Dr. Bailey is a strong choice to represent the Big 12 Conference."

Bailey is the fifteenth president at Texas Tech and has served the university in that role since August 2008. Bailey came to the university from University of Missouri, Kansas City, where he was president from 2006-08.

Among other duties, the board oversees the Infractions Committee and the Committee on Academic Performance.

Copyright 2010 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX. 79404

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KCBD. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.