Texas Tech Hall of Fame/Hall of Honor inductees announced - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


Texas Tech Hall of Fame/Hall of Honor inductees announced

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - Five former Red Raider athletes are slated for induction into the Texas Tech Athletic Hall of Fame and Hall of Honor during the Texas Tech-Texas football weekend Sept. 17-18.

Comprising the Hall of Fame class are volleyball player Lisa Clark, baseball player Johnny Grimes, and football players Marcus Coleman, Herschel Ramsey and Montae Reagor.

The Hall of Honor class consists of a single member, the inaugural Masked Rider, Joe Kirk Fulton.

The Hall of Fame/Hall of Honor Banquet will be held Friday, Sept. 17, starting at 6:00 p.m. in the Merket Alumni Center. The new honorees will be officially recognized prior to the football game the next day. Banquet tickets are $50 each and $500 for a reserved table of eight. Contact the Double T Association at (806) 771-4000 for tickets.

The Athletic Hall of Honor has been the single entity used to honor letterwinners and non-letterwinners for their accomplishments and contributions to Red Raider athletics since 1961.

This year's induction marks the third year of the separation of the Texas Tech Athletic Hall of Honor and the Texas Tech Athletic Hall of Fame.

In 2004, the Hall of Legacy was created by the Red Raider Athletic Department to honor individuals and corporations who have provided extraordinary financial support to Texas Tech athletics.

The Athletic Hall of Fame will recognize those athletes who earned entry through outstanding athletic performances. The Athletic Hall of Honor will reward those who make significant non-financial contributions to Tech athletics.

The 157 previous inductees into the Athletic Hall of Honor have been retroactively assigned to Hall of Fame and Hall of Honor on the basis of contributions.

2010 marks the sixth year that the Double T Association, the athletic letterwinners organization at Texas Tech, is handling the Texas Tech Athletic Hall of Fame/Hall of Honor voting and induction ceremony. An organization for all varsity letterwinners, the DTA's current membership conducted the 2010 Hall of Fame/Hall of Honor nominations and voting.

Clark was the only Red Raider named to First-Team SWC All-Decade (1983-1992) volleyball team. A First Team AVCA All-South Region and First-Team All-SWC performer as a senior, she led the team to 30-3 record and Sweet Sixteen finish. She was

second-team All-SWC as a junior and was SWC Newcomer of the Year as a freshman. Clark left Tech the career record-holder in kills, service aces and solo blocks, assist blocks and total blocks. Clark resides in Tomball.

Grimes, a native of Monahans, Texas, was named 2nd Team All-America catcher in 1984. In addition, he was All-Region VI and SWC Player of the Year as he led the league in home runs. He re-wrote the school record book, leaving Tech the single-season and career record-holder for home runs and RBI. He also left Tech the leader in single-season total bases and career leader in slugging %. He played four years in the Giants organization and now resides in Midland, Texas.

Coleman was named 1st Team All-America at defensive back by Football Writers Association of America, Dallas News and American Football Quarterly as a senior in 1995. In addition, he was named 2nd Team All-America by UPI and was a consensus First Team All-SWC performer. Also named All-SWC in '94, he was part of the All-Time Tech football team as named in '08 as part of the Lubbock Centennial Celebration. He holds the career school record for interception TD returns with four and most blocked kicks in a season with three. A 11-year NFL veteran, Coleman retired in 2006 and now resides in Houston.

Ramsey was Texas Tech's first football All-American, being named by the Associated Press to the Little All-America team in 1935. (Selection of Associated Press Little All-America Teams began in 1934. Early AP selectors were not bound by NCAA membership classifications; therefore, several current Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) teams, including Texas Tech, were included in the early "Little All-America" teams.) Ramsey was named All-Border Conference in ‘36 and ‘37.

Reagor was named consensus 1st Team All-American at defensive end in ‘98. A 2nd Team All-American in '97, he was Named All-Big 12 as both a junior and senior. Like Coleman, he was named to the All-Time Tech football team in ‘08 as part of the Lubbock Centennial Celebration. Named Team MVP in ‘97 and '98, he played in the East-West Shrine game and Senior Bowl after his career. He left Tech the career leader in sacks and tackles for loss and was tied for the single-season lead in sacks. A 9-year NFL veteran, Reagor retired in 2007 and now resides in Frisco.

Fulton initiated the Masked Rider tradition on New Year's Day, 1954, when he made the first official run as mascot in front of a stunned Gator Bowl crowd. The Red Raiders won the game over Auburn to cap an 11-1 season, and a tradition was born. He resides in Lubbock.

The seven will bring the number to 157 people who have been inducted into the Athletic Hall of Fame/Hall of Honor since its inception in 1961.

Copyright 2010 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly