Red Raiders hit the practice fields on Saturday - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

8/3/10

Red Raiders hit the practice fields on Saturday

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - After months of anticipation, the Tommy Tuberville era of Texas Tech Football will officially begin on Saturday, Aug.7 when the Red Raiders hit the practice fields at 3 p.m. for the first official practice of training camp.

The varsity and freshmen will officially report on Friday, Aug. 6 and will attend various team meetings prior to Saturday's first official workout.

"It's finally here and we are certainly ready to get started," said Tuberville. "Our players and our coaches are ready to end all the talk and get to work. We felt like we had a really good spring and have I have been pleased with our conditioning this summer, so we are ready to put it all together out on the field."

A total of 22 practices are on the agenda between Aug. 7 and Aug. 29. Texas Tech will begin game week preparations on Tuesday, Aug. 31 as the Red Raiders game plan for their season opener against SMU on Sunday, Sept. 5.

All practices will be open to the public with times being subject to change. The Red Raiders will meet the fans on Saturday, August 14 at Fan Day, which will be held for the first time at the United Spirit Arena between 2-4 p.m.

Season tickets for the 2010 season are still available and can be purchased online at www.texastech.com or by calling the athletics ticket office at (806) 742-TECH or 888-GO-BIG12.

2010 TEXAS TECH FOOTBALL
Training Camp Schedule

**please note that all times are subject to change**

  • Friday, Aug. 6 - All varsity and freshmen will report to the Football Training Facility between 2 and 4 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 7 3 p.m.
  • Sunday, August 8 3:45 p.m.
  • Monday, August 9 3 p.m.
  • Tuesday, August 10 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 11 3 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 12 9:30 a.m.
  • Thursday, August 12 7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, August 13 3 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 14 10 a.m. (Scrimmage)
  • Sunday, August 15 OFF DAY
  • Monday, August 16 9:30 a.m.
  • Monday, August 16 7:30 p. m.
  • Tuesday, August 17 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 18 9:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, August 18 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 19 7:15 p.m.
  • Friday, August 20 3 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 21 10:15 a.m. (Scrimmage)
  • Sunday, August 22 OFF DAY
  • Monday, August 23 OFF DAY
  • Tuesday, August 24 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 25 3:45 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 26 OFF DAY (First Day Of Classes)
  • Friday, August 27 3:45 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 28 10:15 a.m.
  • Sunday, August 29 3 p.m.

Key Dates For Fans

Saturday, August 142-4 p.m.; Fan Day, United Spirit Arena

Thursday, August 19
Kickoff Luncheon, Lubbock Civic Center

All practices are open to the public and the media.

Copyright 2010 KCBD. All rights reserved.

  • SPORTSMore>>

  • Award-winning sports writer Frank Deford dies at 78

    Award-winning sports writer Frank Deford dies at 78

    Monday, May 29 2017 11:10 PM EDT2017-05-30 03:10:27 GMT
    Monday, May 29 2017 11:10 PM EDT2017-05-30 03:10:27 GMT

    Frank Deford, elegant award-winning sports writer and commentator, dies at 78.

    Frank Deford, elegant award-winning sports writer and commentator, dies at 78.

  • Tiger Woods arrested on DUI charges

    Tiger Woods arrested on DUI charges

    Monday, May 29 2017 11:29 AM EDT2017-05-29 15:29:29 GMT
    Monday, May 29 2017 6:27 PM EDT2017-05-29 22:27:28 GMT

    The professional golfer was arrested about 3 a.m. in Jupiter, FL.

    The professional golfer was arrested about 3 a.m. in Jupiter, FL.

  • Tech ranked no. 5 nationally, to play Delaware Friday at 2 p.m.

    Tech ranked no. 5 nationally, to play Delaware Friday at 2 p.m.

    (Source: KCBD Graphic)(Source: KCBD Graphic)

    The Texas Tech baseball team has been named the No. 5 national seed and will take on Delaware on Friday, June 2, at 2 p.m., at Dan Law Field at Rip Griffin Park, the NCAA Selection Committee announced today.

    The Texas Tech baseball team has been named the No. 5 national seed and will take on Delaware on Friday, June 2, at 2 p.m., at Dan Law Field at Rip Griffin Park, the NCAA Selection Committee announced today.

Powered by Frankly