Red Raiders hit the practice fields on Saturday - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

8/3/10

Red Raiders hit the practice fields on Saturday

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - After months of anticipation, the Tommy Tuberville era of Texas Tech Football will officially begin on Saturday, Aug.7 when the Red Raiders hit the practice fields at 3 p.m. for the first official practice of training camp.

The varsity and freshmen will officially report on Friday, Aug. 6 and will attend various team meetings prior to Saturday's first official workout.

"It's finally here and we are certainly ready to get started," said Tuberville. "Our players and our coaches are ready to end all the talk and get to work. We felt like we had a really good spring and have I have been pleased with our conditioning this summer, so we are ready to put it all together out on the field."

A total of 22 practices are on the agenda between Aug. 7 and Aug. 29. Texas Tech will begin game week preparations on Tuesday, Aug. 31 as the Red Raiders game plan for their season opener against SMU on Sunday, Sept. 5.

All practices will be open to the public with times being subject to change. The Red Raiders will meet the fans on Saturday, August 14 at Fan Day, which will be held for the first time at the United Spirit Arena between 2-4 p.m.

Season tickets for the 2010 season are still available and can be purchased online at www.texastech.com or by calling the athletics ticket office at (806) 742-TECH or 888-GO-BIG12.

2010 TEXAS TECH FOOTBALL
Training Camp Schedule

**please note that all times are subject to change**

  • Friday, Aug. 6 - All varsity and freshmen will report to the Football Training Facility between 2 and 4 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 7 3 p.m.
  • Sunday, August 8 3:45 p.m.
  • Monday, August 9 3 p.m.
  • Tuesday, August 10 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 11 3 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 12 9:30 a.m.
  • Thursday, August 12 7:30 p.m.
  • Friday, August 13 3 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 14 10 a.m. (Scrimmage)
  • Sunday, August 15 OFF DAY
  • Monday, August 16 9:30 a.m.
  • Monday, August 16 7:30 p. m.
  • Tuesday, August 17 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 18 9:30 a.m.
  • Wednesday, August 18 7:30 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 19 7:15 p.m.
  • Friday, August 20 3 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 21 10:15 a.m. (Scrimmage)
  • Sunday, August 22 OFF DAY
  • Monday, August 23 OFF DAY
  • Tuesday, August 24 3 p.m.
  • Wednesday, August 25 3:45 p.m.
  • Thursday, August 26 OFF DAY (First Day Of Classes)
  • Friday, August 27 3:45 p.m.
  • Saturday, August 28 10:15 a.m.
  • Sunday, August 29 3 p.m.

Key Dates For Fans

Saturday, August 142-4 p.m.; Fan Day, United Spirit Arena

Thursday, August 19
Kickoff Luncheon, Lubbock Civic Center

All practices are open to the public and the media.

Copyright 2010 KCBD. All rights reserved.

  • SPORTSMore>>

  • #2 Red Raider baseball wins 10th straight

    #2 Red Raider baseball wins 10th straight

    Wednesday, March 29 2017 6:12 PM EDT2017-03-29 22:12:43 GMT
    (Source: KCBD Graphic)(Source: KCBD Graphic)

    Coming off a weather-delayed win that ended at 11:47 p.m., the #2 Red Raiders baseball team was back out on the diamond 2 p.m. Wednesday and their bats didn’t need a wake-up call. 

    Coming off a weather-delayed win that ended at 11:47 p.m., the #2 Red Raiders baseball team was back out on the diamond 2 p.m. Wednesday and their bats didn’t need a wake-up call. 

  • ABC Rodeo celebrates 75 years this week

    ABC Rodeo celebrates 75 years this week

    Wednesday, March 29 2017 5:19 PM EDT2017-03-29 21:19:50 GMT
    ABC Rodeo (Source: KCBD)ABC Rodeo (Source: KCBD)

    The ABC Pro Rodeo is celebrating their 75th year here in Lubbock. Organizers say this is more than just an event, it's a tradition.

    The ABC Pro Rodeo is celebrating their 75th year here in Lubbock. Organizers say this is more than just an event, it's a tradition.

  • Lady Plainsmen sign to play college softball

    Lady Plainsmen sign to play college softball

    Wednesday, March 29 2017 4:59 PM EDT2017-03-29 20:59:53 GMT
    Source: KCBD PhotoSource: KCBD Photo

    Monterey's Megyn Castillo signed to play college softball at McMurry in Abilene Wednesday in Plainsmen Alley.

    Monterey's Megyn Castillo signed to play college softball at McMurry in Abilene Wednesday in Plainsmen Alley.

Powered by Frankly