Lady Raiders claim third place at NCAA cross country championships

LUBBOCK, Texas – The Texas Tech Lady Raiders cross country team raced to a program-best, third-place finish and three All-American honors at the 2010 NCAA Cross Country Championships at the Wabash Family Sports Center in Terre Haute, Ind.

"Outstanding effort by the entire team," head coach Jon Murray said after race. "It is exciting to achieve something that has never been done by a Texas Tech cross country team. I am proud of each individual athlete for the entire season that they have had."

The race started and through the first 2,000M of the race the runners were bunched and jockeying for position. Junior Rose Tanui was with the lead pack and took the lead for a period of time during the middle of the race.

Approaching the 4000M mark, the Lady Raiders were leading the team race and looked strong.

Throughout the last 2K of the race, the gap got closer with Villanova, Florida State and Georgetown pushing Tech. The final results ended up with Villanova in first place while Florida State finished in second.

The Lady Raiders third-place finish is the best in program history and one place better than last year's fourth place honor. Once again, Tech was led by Tanui who finished in fifth place with a time of 20:18. She earned All-American honors and finished the season in the top five of every race.

Senior Winrose Karunde finished her season strong by earning her first All-American honor. She ran the course in 20:31 and crossed the line in 18th. Junior Purity Biwott claimed her second-straight All-America honor as she crossed the line in 39th place at 20:53.

Junior Caroline Jepleting was the fourth Lady Raider to come across the line as she ran a 21:07 and placed 68th overall. Senior Caroline Karunde covered the course in a time of 21:16 to finish 89th.

Seniors Michelle Guzman (22:30) and Kaci Westervelt (23:48) were the final two Lady Raiders with Guzman placing 216th while Westervelt finished 246th.

Tech's three All-America honors are the most at a NCAA Cross Country Championship meet.