Consider This...Opinions on councilmen not paying taxes on time - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Consider This...Opinions on councilmen not paying taxes on time

LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) – I've received overwhelming response to last week's comments about property taxes. You'll recall I took issue with one elected official and one top city administrator for not paying their taxes on time. And not just a little late. One was delinquent on some bills for multiple years. And the other, who is paid almost 160,000 a year, paid his taxes only after the issue was raised on the news.

All of this is now in front to the district attorney to decide if these folks should lose their jobs. Here's some of your response: Butch of Lubbock wrote an email saying: Seems to me that they were in a rush to get this paid when some light was shed on the issue. How long would they… (have) waited to pay if nothing had been said of this issue?..... I sure don't want my house being sold on the court house steps for nonpayment of taxes, why do they not have the same amount (of) concern????... Don't trust them and never will now!

Another response was Debbie of Lubbock writes: They are in charge of overseeing and managing our hard earned tax dollars and I feel if they cannot manage their own business. It would be in our best interest for them not to try and manage ours.

Finally there were those that saw the other side: An anonymous viewer defended Councilman Hernandez by saying: "…the people of the councilman's district voted for him. It should be up to those people…..not a city mayor or an attorney."

 Keep your comments coming whether you agree with me or not, I appreciate the feedback!

We want to know what you think. Voice your opinion by e-mailing us at considerthis@kcbd.com or write us at:

KCBD-TV Attn: Consider This
5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX 79404

Copyright 2011 KCBD. All rights reserved.

  • Local News on KCBD.comNewsMore>>

  • Texas lieutenant governor calls for 'hardening' of schools

    Texas lieutenant governor calls for 'hardening' of schools

    Saturday, May 19 2018 11:51 PM EDT2018-05-20 03:51:30 GMT
    Sunday, May 20 2018 12:05 PM EDT2018-05-20 16:05:41 GMT
    (Jennifer Reynolds/The Galveston County Daily News via AP). April Salinas, second from right, her daughters Meah, 13, and Macee, 6, and Jeramiah Kelley read notes left at memorial behind Texas First Bank, Saturday, May 19, 2018 in Santa Fe, Texas. A gu...(Jennifer Reynolds/The Galveston County Daily News via AP). April Salinas, second from right, her daughters Meah, 13, and Macee, 6, and Jeramiah Kelley read notes left at memorial behind Texas First Bank, Saturday, May 19, 2018 in Santa Fe, Texas. A gu...

    The mother of one slain student said her daughter may have been targeted because she rejected advances from the suspect, who was an ex-boyfriend of her daughter's best friend.

    The mother of one slain student said her daughter may have been targeted because she rejected advances from the suspect, who was an ex-boyfriend of her daughter's best friend.

  • Arrest records of Rosa Parks, MLK to be preserved

    Arrest records of Rosa Parks, MLK to be preserved

    Sunday, May 20 2018 11:41 AM EDT2018-05-20 15:41:33 GMT
    Sunday, May 20 2018 12:05 PM EDT2018-05-20 16:05:27 GMT

    Yellowing court records from the arrests of Rosa Parks, Martin Luther King Jr. and others at the dawn of the modern civil rights era are being preserved and digitized after being discovered in a courthouse box.

    Yellowing court records from the arrests of Rosa Parks, Martin Luther King Jr. and others at the dawn of the modern civil rights era are being preserved and digitized after being discovered in a courthouse box.

  • Pope Francis to invest 14 new cardinals in June

    Pope Francis to invest 14 new cardinals in June

    Sunday, May 20 2018 6:41 AM EDT2018-05-20 10:41:19 GMT
    Sunday, May 20 2018 12:03 PM EDT2018-05-20 16:03:31 GMT
    (AP Photo/Gregorio Borgia). Pope Francis asperges holy water as he celebrates a Pentecost mass in St. Peter's Basilica, at the Vatican, Sunday, May 20, 2018.(AP Photo/Gregorio Borgia). Pope Francis asperges holy water as he celebrates a Pentecost mass in St. Peter's Basilica, at the Vatican, Sunday, May 20, 2018.

    Pope Francis has announced that he will make 14 new cardinals next month, among them his chief aide for helping homeless people.

    Pope Francis has announced that he will make 14 new cardinals next month, among them his chief aide for helping homeless people.

Powered by Frankly