Local names win big at Texas Regional Radio Music Awards Show - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


Local names win big at Texas Regional Radio Music Awards Show

Josh Abbott Band Josh Abbott Band

Some local names and faces bring home some big honors at this weekend's Texas Regional Radio Music Awards Show.

The Josh Abbott Band racked up four major awards including:

  • Song of the Year
  • Single of the Year
  • Video of the Year
  • Album of the Year

They were also nominated for Best Group and Best Entertainer.

"I think we still have a lot of growing to do before we're ready to win awards like that, but we were just really thrilled to be in the final nominations," the band's lead singer and namesake told us.

We spoke to Josh Sunday by phone as he and the guys get ready to head to a concert this week in Baton Rouge, LA.

"It feels really good. Especially in such a short time. I mean being able to put this thing together in 2006 and start touring outside of Lubbock in 2008. I mean, here we are in our fourth year of touring and I'm proud of where we started. We're just having a lot of great success, and you know I'm just going to just keep on riding it and be as humble as I can."

Josh is from Idalou and went to South Plains College and Texas Tech University.

Two of the band members studied music at SPC.

But that's not the only big win from our area; local radio personality Neely Yates won for best on-air personality of the year. Her station, KJDL 105.3, took the honors for best radio station of the year.

Copyright 2011 KCBD NewsChannel 11.  All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly