South Plains Electric Co-Op donates $30K to fire departments - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

South Plains Electric Co-Op donates $30K to volunteer fire departments


South Plains Electric Cooperative members and employees combined their support to contribute $30,750 to 41 volunteer fire departments (VFDs) during the drought of 2011.

The 41 volunteer departments serve and protect 17 counties where Cooperative members live. Each department received a total of $750 in two checks.

The first check was from the South Plains Electric Cooperative members. The Board of Directors voted to send each department $500 in appreciation for their efforts to prevent property damage when wildfires erupt.

The second check for $250 was from the Cooperative employees through their Operation Round Up Employee Fund. Cooperative employees make donations to this fund directly from their paychecks and typically use the funds for employee emergency needs and scholarships. Many of the front-line employees have seen the devastation of wildfires first hand, so they voted to join with the Cooperative members in supporting the local VFDs.

"I am proud to deliver this news and these checks on behalf of South Plains Electric Cooperative members and employees," said James Driver, general manager of South Plains Electric Cooperative in his letter to the VFDs. "Our Cooperative spirit is based on our commitment to our local communities and I think this is one of the best examples of that spirit."

South Plains Electric Cooperative, a Touchstone Energy cooperative, serves more than 48,000 connected meters over 6,600 square miles.

The 41 departments by county receiving donations were:

Childress County – Childress Fire Dept.; Tell VFD Cottle County – Paducah VFD Crosby County – Crosbyton VFD; Lorenzo VFD; Ralls VFD Dickens County – Dickens VFD; McAdoo VFD; Spur VFD Floyd County – Daughtry VFD; Floydada VFD Foard County – Crowell VFD Garza County – Post VFD Hale County – Abernathy VFD (also serves Lubbock Co.); Cotton Center VFD; Hale Center VFD; Halfway VFD; Petersburg VFD Hardeman County – Chillicothe VFD; Quanah VFD Hockley County – Anton VFD; Ropes VFD; Smyer VFD Kent County – Jayton VFD King County – Guthrie VFD Lamb County – Olton VFD Lubbock County – Abernathy VFD (also serves Hale Co.); Buffalo Lakes VFD; Carlisle VFD; Idalou VFD; New Deal VFD; Ransom Canyon VFD; Roosevelt VFD; Shallowater VFD; Slaton VFD; Wolfforth VFD; Woodrow VFD Lynn County – New Home VFD; Wilson VFD Motley County – Matador VFD; Roaring Springs VFD Stonewall County – Stonewall County VFD.

Information provided by South Plains Electric Cooperative

Powered by Frankly