KCBD INVESTIGATES: Voting records of LISD School Board candidate - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

KCBD INVESTIGATES: Voting records of LISD School Board candidates


On Thursday, KCBD NewsChannel 11 revealed the voting history for the mayoral and city council candidates since 2008. The other half of our investigation includes the voting history for the candidates in the Lubbock Independent School District Board of Trustees race.

Seven out of the nine candidates have not voted in at least one election in the past four years.

In the District 1 race, incumbent Mario Ybarra displayed a perfect voting record. He voted in all ten elections in which he was eligible to vote.

It's a different story for challenger Gwen Reyna. She has been registered to vote since 1995, but has not voted at all since she registered. Reyna did not return our phone calls.

Challenger Oralia 'LaLa' Chavez was eligible to vote in nine elections. She voted in all municipal elections, but did not vote in the 2009 state election.

In the District 3 race, Mark Blankenship did not vote in four out of the ten elections he was eligible to vote in. Two of those were local elections.

Eddie Kirkpatrick, who is also in the District 3 race, has not missed an election in the past four years.

Dan Pope, current School Board Trustee for District 5, has missed one city election.

Pope said, "What I think you're looking for is people a part of the process. I think if they're consistently part of the process, I think that it's important. I think you've got to give people a chance for the one or two that they may have missed. I think in general people are understanding of that."

His challenger, Sara Duncan, missed a total of five elections in the 12 elections she was able to vote in. Three of those were municipal elections. She declined our interview.

Incumbent Melissa Collier and challenger Ruby Tanner are vying for the At Large seat.

Collier was eligible to vote in 11 elections and missed two elections total. She missed one municipal election in 2008. She also declined our offer to go on camera.

Tanner missed three elections. Two of them were municipal elections. We reached out to Tanner, but were unable to reach her.

The only candidates running for the Lubbock Independent School board with perfect voting records are Eddie Kirkpatrick and Mario Ybarra.

Copyright 2012 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly