Lubbock voters back incumbents in low-turnout primary - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Lubbock voters back incumbents in low-turnout primary


It was a good night for incumbents in the long-awaited Texas primary, but we had one close local race and several candidates are headed for a runoff on July 31.

County Commissioner Bill McCay won re-election with 60% of the vote, while Mark Hocker won the seat for Lubbock County Court at Law #1 by just 137 votes, out of the more than 22,000 cast.

The race for Lubbock County Commissioner Precinct 3 will be decided in a runoff as Gilbert Flores and Lorenzo "Bubba" Sedeno face off again in July.

State results are still coming in, but we're looking at runoff races for David Dewhurst and Ted Cruz for U.S. Senate, and for Jim Landtroop and Ken King in State District 88.

Randy Neugebauer is leading Chris Winn with nearly 75% of the vote in the battle for U.S. District 19, while Charles Perry is leading Delwin Jones with 72% in the race for State District 83.

Robert Duncan easily defended his State Senate seat, leading E.M. Garza with 85% of the vote.

Texas voters put Mitt Romney over the top on Tuesday, giving him enough delegates to clinch the Republican nomination.

Craig James, father of former Texas Tech football player Adam James, got 4% of the vote state-wide, securing only 2.62% in Lubbock.

Copyright 2012 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly