Doege named to Maxwell Award preseason watch list - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Doege named to Maxwell Award preseason watch list

Seth Doege (Source: Seth Doege (Source:

From Texas Tech Athletics:

LUBBOCK, Texas –Senior quarterback Seth Doege is one of 65 student-athletes across the nation to be named to the Maxwell Award Preseason Watch List. 

The Maxwell Award, now in its 76th season, is given annually to the nation's outstanding collegiate football player.  The award has been given since 1937 and is named in honor of sportswriter Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell.  The 2011 Maxwell Award winner, Stanford quarterback Andrew Luck, made himself available for the 2012 NFL Draft, where he was selected No. 1 overall by the Indianapolis Colts.

This year's watch list features 11 student-athletes from the Big 12 Conference with representation from Baylor, Kansas State, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Texas, Texas Tech and West Virginia.

Doege, the NCAA passing leader in 2011, is primed for a huge senior season as he returns the nucleus (nine starters) of an offense that ranked 13th nationally in 2011 with an average of 470.58 yards-per-game.  Doege's top wide receiver and running back targets are back in 2012 and that group should help give Texas Tech its most potent offense in the Tommy Tuberville era.

Last season, Doege threw for 4,004 yards along with 28 touchdowns while averaging 333.7 yards-per-game.  He completed 68.5-percent of his passes and threw just 10 interceptions in 581 attempts.  Another 4,000-plus yard season and Doege could move all the way into third place on the school's career passing yards list behind Graham Harrell (2005-08) and Kliff Kingsbury (1999-02).

Semifinalists for the Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced October 29, and the three finalists for each award will be unveiled November 19. The winners of the 2011 Maxwell and Bednarik Awards will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on December 6. The formal presentation of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 1, 2013.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, evaluating past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2012 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

Powered by Frankly