O'Brien award honors Seth Doege with preseason nod

Seth Doege (Source: texastech.com)
Seth Doege (Source: texastech.com)

Provided by Texas Tech Athletics

Senior quarterback Seth Doege, a semifinalist for the 2011 Davey O'Brien Award, is back on the ballot again as he was named to the 2012 preseason watch list unveiled on Tuesday by the Davey O'Brien Foundation.

Doege is making consecutive appearances on the O'Brien preseason watch list and is one of seven semifinalists from 2011 that are returning this season. He is third Texas Tech quarterback since 2008 to earn a preseason nod from the Davey O'Brien Foundation joining Graham Harrell (2008) and Taylor Potts (2009 and 2010).

A total of five Big 12 Conference quarterbacks made the list including Landry Jones (Oklahoma), Collin Klein (Kansas State), Casey Pachall (TCU) and Geno Smith (West Virginia).

Doege, the NCAA passing leader in 2011, is primed for a huge senior season as he returns the nucleus (nine starters) of an offense that ranked 13th nationally in 2011 with an average of 470.58 yards-per-game. Doege's top wide receiver and running back targets are back in 2012 and that group should help give Texas Tech its most potent offense in the Tommy Tuberville era.

Last season, Doege threw for 4,004 yards along with 28 touchdowns while averaging 333.7 yards-per-game. He completed 68.5-percent of his passes and threw just 10 interceptions in 581 attempts. Another 4,000-plus yard season and Doege could move all the way into third place on the school's career passing yards list behind Graham Harrell (2005-08)and Kliff Kingsbury (1999-02).

Appearing on the Watch List is not a requirement for a player to win the Davey O'Brien Award. Quarterbacks from all 124 NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision (FBS) schools are eligible for the award until the field is narrowed to 16 semifinalists on Monday, Oct. 22. The Foundation and the Selection Committee will announce three finalists on Monday, Nov. 19. The 2012 Davey O'Brien Winner will be announced on The Home Depot College Football Awards on Thursday, Dec. 6.

The 36th Annual Davey O'Brien Awards Dinner will be held Feb. 18, 2013 in Fort Worth, Texas.

About the Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award®

The Davey O'Brien National Quarterback Award® is presented annually to the nation's best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O'Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O'Brien's enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O'Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

The Davey O'Brien Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA). The NCFAA was founded in 1997 as a coalition of the major collegiate football awards to protect, preserve and enhance the integrity, influence and prestige of the game's predominant awards. The NCFAA encourages professionalism and the highest standards for the administration of its member awards and the selection of their candidates and recipients. For more information, visit the association's official website, www.ncfaa.org.