Cruz, King, Sedeno win in runoff full of upsets - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Cruz, King, Sedeno win in runoff full of upsets


Tea Party favorite Ted Cruz took the GOP Senate nomination from Texas Lt. Gov. David Dewhurst Tuesday night, after winning only 33% of the vote in the May 29 primary.

Dewhurst won 45% of the vote on May 29, but trailed Cruz by more than 10 points in the runoff.

Cruz will be facing off against Democrat Paul Sadler who won his own runoff with 65% of the vote.

But Cruz was just the first in a series of upset victories Tuesday night.

Gilbert Flores led Lorenzo "Bubba" Sedeno 48% to 27% in the May 29 primary, but lost to him in an extremely tight runoff. The final results show Sedeno with 50.86% of the vote and Flores with 49.14%.

Ken King defeated an incumbent who had received endorsements from several top Republicans, including Gov. Rick Perry and state Agriculture Commissioner Todd Staples. Although the Associated Press reminds us that Landtroop's district had been "drastically redrawn."

But the biggest drama of the night comes from Hockley County, where Paul Scarborough tells us R.C. Cheek has won the Sheriff's seat by just 2 votes.

Scarborough says there are still some provisional ballots out there and he will be asking for a recount.

U.S. Senate Early Returns
Ted Cruz 52.87%
David Dewhurst 47.12%
 100% reporting

Lubbock County Commissioner - Precinct 3

Early Returns Election Returns Final
Lorenzo "Bubba" Sedeno 51.86%
 48.94% 50.86%
Gilbert A. Flores 48.14%
 51.06% 49.14%
20 of 20 locations reporting 

Texas House Representative District 88

Early Returns
Ken King
Jim Landtroop

 123 of 123 precincts reporting

Hockley County Sheriff

Early Returns Election Returns Final
Paul Scarborough
 308 1,080
R.C. Cheek
 351 1,082

Official Lubbock County election results are available here.

Official State of Texas election results are available here.

Powered by Frankly