LaAdrian Waddle named All-Big 12 first team - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

LaAdrian Waddle named All-Big 12 first team

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech senior offensive lineman LaAdrian Waddle (Columbus, Texas) was named to the All-Big 12 Conference first team in a vote by the league coaches. Five Red Raiders, including senior Darrin Moore, sophomore Jace Amaro, junior Kerry Hyder, senior Cody Davis and senior D.J. Johnson were named to the All-Big 12 second team, which league officials announced this morning.

Waddle becomes the first Red Raider offensive lineman to receive All-Big 12 first team honors since 2009 (Brandon Carter) and is just the third Tech offensive lineman to receive the honor over the past 12 years.

Waddle has been a staple on the Red Raiders offensive line the past three seasons while making 37 consecutive starts heading into the Meineke Car Care Bowl in Houston. This marks his third All-Big 12 recognition after earning second team honors as a junior and honorable mention as a sophomore.

Moore (Irving, Texas) leads Tech with 81 receptions and 13 receiving touchdowns while recording 948 receiving yards this season. His touchdown total ranks fourth all-time at Texas Tech for a single-season and also fourth in the Big 12 this season.

Despite playing in just six games this season, Amaro (San Antonio, Texas) emerged as one of the top tight ends in the conference with 23 receptions, 394 yards receiving and four touchdowns. His final performance before suffering an injury, Amaro caught five passes for 156 yards and a touchdown against then-No. 4 West Virginia.

Hyder (Austin, Texas) has made 24 straight starts on the defensive line for Tech and this season ranks third in the Big 12 in tackles for a loss (13.5) and fifth in the league with five sacks. He leads the conference with 10.5 tackles for a loss in conference play.

Davis (Stephenville, Texas), who was a finalist for the National Football Foundation National Scholar-Athlete Award, leads the Red Raiders with 91 tackles, 82 solo tackles and three interceptions this season. He leads all active Red Raiders with 48 career starts and he currently leads the Big 12 and ranks fourth in the nation in solo tackles. In addition, his 352 career tackles rank eighth all-time at Texas Tech and are the most by a Red Raider since 2002.

Johnson (Austin, Texas) is second on the team with 76 tackles and 62 solo tackles. He has started in every game this season and in 24 consecutive games dating back to last season. He ranks ninth in the league in solo tackles.

Tech's 12 individuals who received honorable mention accolades junior Terrance Bullitt (LB), sophomore Ryan Bustin (PK), freshman Le'Raven Clark (OL, Offensive Lineman of the Year), senior Cody Davis (Defensive Player of the Year, Scholar Athlete of the Year), senior Seth Doege (QB), senior Cornelius Douglas (DB), junior Ryan Erxleben (P), junior Kerry Hyder (Defensive Lineman of the Year), senior Leon Mackey (DL), junior Tre' Porter (DB), junior Eric Ward (WR) and sophomore Kenny Williams (RB).

Powered by Frankly