Levelland commended for Main Street program - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Levelland commended for Main Street program

Provided by City of Levelland

Levelland, TX has been commended for successful annual progress as a designated Main Street community. Texas Historical Commission's (THC) Texas Main Street Program (TMSP) made the announcement Wednesday, January 30 at the winter gathering of Texas Main Street managers.

Sixty-seven designated Main Street programs in Texas were recognized. These cities will be further recognized as Nationally Accredited by the National Main Street Center, a subsidiary of the National Trust for Historic Preservation, at the National Main Street conference in New Orleans in April. This is Levelland's fifteenth consecutive year to receive State and National level recognition.

"It really is a notable accomplishment to be recognized in this way, especially for those programs that do it year after year," said Debra Farst, TMSP state coordinator. "Incremental progress that leads to comprehensive success is at the core of the preservation-based Main Street model and that is exactly what these programs are showing. This process respects the unique nature of each Main Street community. Each program is recognized for their own local effort. They are truly real places telling real stories."

Accredited programs show above average performance in ten categories on an annual report. Selection criteria focus on planning, partnerships, staffing, volunteer effort, preservation ethic, training and program assessment through reporting. The state office also works with programs throughout the year by providing various services based upon local needs.


For additional information about the national Main Street effort, visit the National Trust Main Street web site at www.preservationnation.org/main-street/. For more information on the Texas Historical Commission's Main Street program visit www.thc.state.tx.us.

2013 National Recognition Cities

1. Amarillo

2. Bastrop

3. Bay City

4. Beaumont

5. Bowie

6. Brenham

7. Bridgeport

8. Canton

9. Canyon

10. Carthage

11. Celina

12. Clifton

13. Colorado City

14. Corsicana

15. Cotulla

16. Del Rio

17. Denison

18. Denton

19. Electra

20. Elgin

21. Farmersville

22. Ferris

23. Gainesville

24. Georgetown

25. Goliad

26. Gonzales

27. Graham

28. Grand Saline

29. Grapevine

30. Greenville

31. Harlingen

32. Henderson

33. Hillsboro

34. Huntsville

35. Kerrville

36. Kilgore

37. La Grange

38. Laredo

39. Levelland

40. Livingston

41. Llano

42. Longview

43. Lufkin

44. McKinney

45. Mineola

46. Mount Pleasant

47. Mount Vernon

48. Nacogdoches

49. New Braunfels

50. Odessa

51. Palestine

52. Paris

53. Pecos

54. Plainview

55. Rio Grande City

56. Rockwall

57. San Angelo

58. San Marcos

59. Seguin

60. Taylor

61. Tyler

62. Uvalde

63. Vernon

64. Victoria

65. Waxahachie

66. Weatherford

67. Winnsboro

Powered by Frankly