Nolan Ryan awarded Stewardship of Texas Values Award - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Nolan Ryan awarded Stewardship of Texas Values Award


From Texas Lyceum:

(Arlington, TX) Officials with the Texas Lyceum, the state's premier non-profit, non-partisan leadership organization announced today that the recipient of the 2012 Stewardship of Texas Values Award  (SOTV) is baseball's all time strikeout leader, CEO and President of the Texas Rangers Nolan Ryan.  Past Texas Lyceum Chairmen presented the honor to Mr. Ryan today at the Ballpark in Arlington.

"Nolan Ryan is an exceptional role model and has served Texas and the nation with great distinction. His contributions are legendary and ongoing," said past Lyceum Chairman and SOTV Chairman Jay Rutherford.  "We are enormously proud to present him with the Stewardship of Texas Values Award."

Nolan Ryan, nicknamed "The Ryan Express" for his accomplishments on the pitching mound, has been a successful businessman since retiring from the game in a Texas Rangers uniform in 1993. Ryan has been a spokesman for the President's Council on Physical Fitness and Sports, co-written several books, served on the Texas Parks and Wildlife Commission and invested in three baseball teams. He is also a limited partner in Beefmaster Cattlemen LP, a branded beef company that markets Nolan Ryan Tender Aged Beef.

"I am very proud to receive the distinguished Stewardship of Texas Values Award," said Ryan.  "After three decades of service and with more than 800 alumni, The Texas Lyceum has a rich history of cultivating leaders from all across our state who work to solve our most difficult challenges. This is a big honor for me."

About SOTV

The Stewardship of Texas Values Award (SOTV) was developed in 1988 to honor extraordinary Texans who best exemplify Texas values and who have served our state with distinction. Past recipients include Dr. Denton Cooley, Lady Bird Johnson, President George H.W. Bush, Lieutenant Governor Bill Hobby, world-renowned concert pianist and founder of the International Festival Institute James Dick, Southwest Airlines CEO Herb Kelleher, business executive Red McCombs, and philanthropists George and Ronya Kozmetsky, among others.

About the Texas Lyceum The Texas Lyceum, a non-profit, non-partisan group is the premier statewide leadership organization focused on identifying the next generation of top Texas leaders. The Lyceum consists of 96 men and women from throughout the state who begin their six-year term while under the age of 46, and have demonstrated leadership in their community and profession, together with a deep commitment to Texas. For more information, please visit

Powered by Frankly