1983 baseball team to be inducted into LCU Hall of Honor - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

1983 baseball team to be inducted into LCU Hall of Honor

Provided by LCU Athletics

The weekend of Sept. 27 - 28 will mark a special weekend at Lubbock Christian University, as the 1983 NAIA National Championship baseball team will have a 30-year reunion, and the entire team will be inducted into the LCU Hall of Honor with a banquet and induction scheduled for Sept. 28 at 6 p.m. inside Baker Conference Center on the LCU campus.

The 1983 Chaparrals baseball team claimed LCU's first national title as a four-year program, and they completed the task on their home field with a 12-9 win over Lewis-Clark State before a crowd of 3,468 fans on June 6, 1983. It was a stunning achievement for the Chaps, who had to defeat LCS in their final two games and leave them with a 69-7 record as the runner-up. Meanwhile, the Chaps went 56-27 that season with a roster of players who have gone off to have solid baseball related careers. Head coach Larry Hays went on to coach at Texas Tech and retired with over 1,500 wins and received an induction into the Texas Baseball Hall of Fame. Randy Velarde was the only player to appear on a Major League roster, and he ended up spending 16 seasons in the big leagues. Rich Wieligman is currently the softball head coach at Oklahoma State University and joins Bob Fanin, Travis Walden, Steve Coleman, Gary Hix, Phil Bryant and Hector Limon as several of the former members who went on to serve in the coaching ranks.

The schedule of events kicks off with a reception hosted by LCU President Tim Perrin Sept. 27 from 7-9 p.m. On Sept. 28, there will be a softball tournament involving the 1983 squad and additional Chaps baseball alumni members beginning at 10 a.m. The banquet and induction in the LCU Hall of Honor ceremony will take place at 6 p.m. (Sept. 28). Members of the general public can attend the induction banquet for $20. Eleven baseball members are currently in the Hall of Honor, with five members from the 1983 squad already individually inducted. Three additional supporters/staff members have already been inducted into the Hall of Honor as well. The 1983 team will serve as the first "team induction" into the Hall of Honor. Additional information, along with advanced ticket purchases, can be obtained by contacting Joyce Foster at 806-720-7276.

1983 Team Inductees


Joe Benavidez

Phil Bryant

David Bulls

Steve Coleman

Rene Cordova

Rick Dillman

Kent Dudley

Kirk Dudley

Bob Fannin

Chet Feldman

Bob Hinson

Gary Hix

Ed Jeffery

Randy Ledbetter

Hector Limon

Jimmy Morris

Dan O'Connor

Brett Parker

Mike Rivera

Randy Velarde

Travis Walden

Rich Wieligman


Larry Hays

Bob Nottebart

John Copeland

Charlie Viney



John Steves



Ron Dover

John Hays

Rip Griffin



LD Hays (supporter)

Walt McAlexander (sports information dir.)

Oscar Acosta (coach)

Frank Hord (supporter)

Tim Marshall (trainer)


Schedule Of Events


7-9 p.m. - Reception hosted by President Perrin (TBA site)


9 a.m. - Registration at Clubhouse

10 a.m. - 1 p.m. – Softball Tournament at Hays Field (lunch provided)

6 p.m. – Banquet and Hall of Honor Induction at Baker Conference Center

Powered by Frankly