Council appoints five new faces to Electric Utility Board - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Council appoints five new faces to Electric Utility Board


A collection of Lubbock citizens addressed the city council Thursday night, demanding that they replace the entire Electric Utility Board. And after a historic vote, that process is well underway.

The Lubbock City Council voted to replace three of the current members of the Electric Utility Board on Thursday night.

Chairman Gail Kring and members Marc McDougal and Carroll McDonald will be replaced.

The council appointed Don Boatman over Kring, Greg Taylor over McDougal and Charlie Dunn over McDonald.

McDougal was then nominated to fill the seat being vacated by Robert Musselman, but the council appointed Jerry Bell to fill that spot instead.

Then they chose James Conwright to fill the seat formerly held by Dwight McDonald.

Don Boatman serves as a member of the Lubbock Community Development board.

Charlie Dunn is a Lubbock attorney and the author of the Lubbock Power Grab blog, which asks "electricity at what cost?"

Greg Taylor is a Lubbock CPA at D. Williams & Co., P.C. 

Jerry Bell is a local businessman and community leader that has served on several city boards.

James Conwright is a loan officer for Vista Bank.

Lubbock Mayor Glen Robertson called the vote "historic."

"It's never happened before," Robertson said. "First time to my knowledge that members have not been reappointed unless they requested not to be appointed."

The council also voted 6-1 to have the Lubbock Police Chief investigate the LP&L bid process, with only Council Member Latrelle Joy voting against.

Copyright 2013 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly