Two Lubbock men receiving awards for service to community - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Two Lubbock men receiving awards for service to community

Source: Lubbock Fire Rescue Source: Lubbock Fire Rescue

Provided by DPS 

The Texas Public Safety Commission (PSC) and the Department of Public Safety (DPS) Director Steven McCraw presented a Medal of Merit award to a DPS employee and a Director's Award to the Lubbock Fire Chief for their outstanding service to the public and state of Texas.

"I am honored to recognize these men for their incredible commitment to the state of Texas – whether through law enforcement or civic achievement," said Director McCraw. "Their perseverance and dedication is a testament to the finest tradition of public service and the Texas Department of Public Safety."

The following awards were presented yesterday:

• Cpl. John Gonzalez, Highway Patrol in Lubbock, received a Medal of Merit for helping establish the Lubbock Regional Public Safety Memorial. In 2000, Gonzalez and Chief Mike Kemp, of the Lubbock Fire Department, began the long process of establishing the memorial. Throughout the years, the men researched possible costs, studied grant options, organized fundraisers and secured donations to create the memorial, which was unveiled Sept. 11, 2013. In recognition of his commitment and work to make the memorial a reality, Chief Kemp received the Director's Award.

"I am honored to be recognized for this award and would like to thank everyone that served on the memorial committee for a job well done," said Corporal Gonzalez. "It was a long and difficult process but the promise I made to the families of the fallen, kept driving me until it was complete."

The Lubbock Regional Public Safety Memorial is located at Leroy Elmore Park on Quaker Avenue near south Loop 289. The memorial honors fallen law enforcement officers, firefighters and medics in the Lubbock region.

The 7,000-square-foot memorial displays the names of 47 first responders who have died in the line of duty.

Other Committee members instrumental to the project were Buddy Davis, Eddie Kirkpatrick, Lynn Wallis, Trena Reeves, and Roy Bassett.

Powered by Frankly