Volunteers honored at annual United Way meeting - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Volunteers honored at annual United Way meeting

Provided by Lubbock Area United Way

More than 400 volunteers and supporters gathered today at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center for Lubbock Area United Way's Annual Meeting.

Greg Jones, Executive Vice President at Prosperity Bank, was honored with the Rita Harmon Volunteer Service Award. The award has been presented each year since 1993 to honor deserving individuals for a lifetime of community service. Jones has served as both Campaign Chairman and Board Chairman for United Way in addition to numerous other civic and volunteer positions.

Byrnie Bass congratulated 2013 Campaign Chairman Brad Moran and announced that $5,787,280 has been raised in the current campaign, which is the largest amount ever in United Way's history.

The Campaign Volunteer of the Year Award went to Travis Funk with Wells Fargo Advisors in recognition of his outstanding work as Chairman of the Professional Division the past two years.

The Agency Volunteer of the Year Award was presented to Dr. Carmyn Morrow who has provided exceptional volunteer support to Literacy Lubbock.

Other items on the annual meeting agenda included the election of new directors and officers to the Board of Directors. Doug Hensley was elected 2014 Board Chairman and Byrnie Bass was named the 2014 Campaign Chairman.

Other officers for 2014 will be: Board Vice-Chair Wil Carter; Treasurer Crystal Roach; Agency Review Chair Tony Peña; Community Impact Chair Butch Davis; Marketing and Communications Chair Vickie Bennett; and Planned Giving and Endowment Chair Alan Lackey.

Seven people were named new members of the Board of Directors: Lynda Dutton, Samantha McKay, Eddie Owens, Judy Parker, Gonzalo Ramirez, Douglas Sanford, and Eric Thomas.

The 2013 Annual Report was released and is available online at www.liveunitedlubbock.org or at the United Way Office.

Powered by Frankly