Consider This...Taxpayers have a right to know - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Consider This...Taxpayers have a right to know

Posted: Updated:

Should a corporation created to help underdeveloped parts of town and funded with millions of tax dollars make their financial records available to the public?

That's the question in front of the Texas attorney general right now. The North and East Lubbock Development Corporation was asked to provide those records and the leadership of that group doesn't want you to see them.

Well I disagree.

Consider this:

Although I am 100 percent in favor of economic revitalization, these funds are administered by city employees, checks are signed by city employees, and what's worse, the law firm of a sitting member of the Lubbock City Council is fighting to keep those expenses a secret.

And remember, a majority of this money comes from you and I.

So what can you do about that? This group is set to receive another $700,000 in city money. but they don't want you to see all their records.

City council still has the final say. Call the mayor or your councilperson and let them know what you think.

Here's a list of their email addresses:

Mayor Glen Robertson

GRobertson@mylubbock.us

Victor Hernandez, District 1

VHernandez@mylubbock.us

Floyd Price, District 2

FPrice@mylubbock.us

Todd R. Klein, District 3

TKlein@mylubbock.us

Jim Gerlt, District 4

JGerlt@mylubbock.us

Mayor Pro Tem Karen Gibson, District 5

KGibson@mylubbock.us

Latrelle Joy, District 6

LJoy@mylubbock.us

The need for transparency is more important than ever.

We want to know what you think. Voice your opinion by commenting below, by e-mailing us at considerthis@kcbd.com or by writing us at:

KCBD-TV Attn: Consider This
5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX 79404

'Consider This' is a commentary by KCBD Vice-President and General Manager Dan Jackson.

Copyright 2014 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by WorldNow

5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX. 79404

FCC Public File
publicfile@kcbd.com
806-744-1414
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KCBD. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.