Dylan Dusek, Stephen Smith earn All-America Honors - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Texas Tech's Dylan Dusek, Stephen Smith earn freshman All-America Honors

Posted: Updated:

Provided by Texas Tech Athletics

Texas Tech had a pair of freshmen named to the Louisville Slugger Freshman All-America team on Wednesday as left-handed pitcher Dylan Dusek (Sugar Land, Texas) and outfielder Stephen Smith (Wolfforth, Texas) were honored, Collegiate Baseball Newspaper announced.

It marks the first time in school history that a pair of Red Raiders have earned Freshman All-America in back-to-back seasons. Last year Eric Gutierrez and Jarrard Poteete were recognized. They are the 10th and 11th Red Raiders all-time to be named a Freshman All-American.

Dusek becomes the first left-handed pitcher in school history to be named a Freshman All-American. The Red Raiders are 12-1 during his 13 starts while he has posted a 7-0 record with a 2.08 ERA and has six scoreless starts this season. He has tallied 69.1 innings, 36 strikeouts and 13 walks allowed.

Dusek helped lead the Red Raiders to the NCAA Coral Gables Regional championship while pitching eight shutout innings in Tech's 3-0 win over No. 3 Miami (Fla.) to remain undefeated in the tournament bracket. His performance led to him being named the Coral Gables Regional Most Outstanding Player.

Dusek has issued one or fewer walks in nine of 13 starts while having gone 23 consecutive innings pitched earlier in the season without issuing a walk.

Smith has been the Red Raiders leadoff hitter for the majority of the season while batting .283 (51-for-180) with 40 runs, 12 doubles, three triples, a home run and 20 RBI with 36 walks and seven hit-by-pitch with three outfield assists playing center field and right field.

Smith has reached base safely in 43-of-49 starts this season and was named to the Big 12 All-Freshman Team.

Texas Tech Freshman All-America Selections:

2014 – LHP Dylan Dusek

2014 – OF Stephen Smith

2013 – 1B Eric Gutierrez

2013 – DH Jarrard Poteete

2011 – RHP/OF David Paiz

2010 – 1B Barrett Barnes

2010 – 2B Jamodrick McGruder

2006 – RHP Miles Morgan

2006 – OF Roger Kieschnick

1998 – INF Brennan Burns

1997 – C Josh Bard

Powered by WorldNow

5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX. 79404

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KCBD. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.