Bama tennis players named doubles team of the year - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Bama tennis players named doubles team of the year

Posted: Updated:

From UA Sports Information:

Alabama's Maya Jansen and Erin Routliffe have been named the National Women's Doubles Team of the Year by the Intercollegiate Tennis Association. The Crimson Tide duo is the 15th winner of the award and third from the Southeastern Conference.

All-Americans Jansen and Routliffe surged to the No. 1 ranking on the heels of their 2014 NCAA Doubles Championship, the first national championship of any kind in tennis for Alabama. The duo won the title with a commanding 6-1, 6-0 victory over Georgia's second-ranked team of Lauren Herring and Maho Kowase. Jansen and Routliffe finished the season 22-4 and won their final 10 matches, helping the Tide to a final ranking of No. 6 in the ITA team rankings, the best in program history.

Powered by WorldNow

5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX. 79404

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KCBD. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.