Ballot board confirms Jeff Griffith as winner for City Council D - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Ballot board confirms Jeff Griffith as winner for City Council District 3

Jeff Griffith Jeff Griffith
LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) - Lubbock businessman Jeff Griffith has been confirmed as the winner in the race for City Council District 3, narrowly beating out Deanne Clark.

The ballot board met Friday evening and finished tallying the provisional, mail-in ballots, and military ballots. The unofficial results after Friday night's tally are 773 votes for Jeff Griffith and 768 votes for Deanne Clark.

"I'm elated. Obviously we’ve been waiting for a long time for this and relieved but very, very happy,” said Griffith. “I've been very, very blessed by great campaign volunteers and we’ve been very blessed to have a great, close knit operation that we held together and thank goodness we prevailed.”

The City of Lubbock is expected to canvass the votes and declare an official result at a special meeting on Monday, June 30, 2014.

“I’m looking forward to working with all of the other council members and I think I bring a very new perspective to council and I believe I’ll have my ears open, ask a lot of questions and eyes open and I really look forward to this very much,” he said. "Goal number one to make sure I understand the staff and make sure that I understand every department of our city and I need to be educated on every segment of it and know what I’m talking about. The main thing is that I’ll be ready to go and energetic to go.”

Deanne Clark has requested a recount. That recount is expected to take place next week.

Unofficial results gave Griffith a six-vote victory on Election Day, but mail-in and military ballots still had to be counted.

Griffith and Clark defeated candidate Maurice Stanley in the May elections but neither received enough votes to be declared winner.

A runoff election was scheduled for June 14 but the date changed when the Secretary of State issued an administrative rule saying that city runoff elections may not be held within 30 days of the May 27 state primary runoff election. That pushed the election date to June 21.

Griffith takes over the seat from Todd Klein who didn't seek reelection after serving two terms.

Copyright 2014 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly