Tim Tadlock earns ABCA Midwest Region Coach of the Year - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Tim Tadlock earns ABCA Midwest Region Coach of the Year

Provided by Texas Tech Athletics

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech head coach Tim Tadlock has been named the 2014 American Baseball Coaches Association Midwest Region Coach of the Year.

In a vote by the 32 NCAA Division-I Midwest Region head baseball coaches, Tadlock becomes the first Red Raider head coach in school history to receive the award.

In just his second season as head coach, Tadlock led his alma mater to the College World Series for the first time in school history while the Red Raiders tallied a 45-21 overall record.

Just last weekend, Tadlock was awarded the Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year by the College Baseball Hall of Fame following the Red Raiders historic season.

Tech’s memorable season includes winning the program’s first-ever NCAA Regional Tournament and NCAA Super Regional while experiencing the biggest turnaround in school history with 19 more victories than the previous season (26-30 record).

Tech knocked off No. 3 Miami (Fla.) at the Coral Gables Regional before sweeping No. 16 College of Charleston at the Lubbock Super Regional with a pair of 1-0 victories. It marked just the second time in NCAA Super Regionals history that a team had shutout an opponent during the best-two-of-three series.

Tech’s 45 wins are its most since 1997 while 17 wins this season were in come-from-behind fashion. The Red Raiders led the Big 12 in slugging percentage (.406), doubles (125), triples (26) and fielding percentage (.980).

The Red Raiders broke a school record with nine shutouts – four of which came in the NCAA Tournament. Tech’s pitchers recorded a 3.11 ERA – which marked the program’s lowest ERA during the aluminum bat era (since 1974).

Tech matched a school record and ranked second in the nation with 33 home wins. Tadlock and the Red Raiders won 16 straight games to end the season, which was the longest active home winning streak in the country.

In addition, Tadlock captured career win No. 500 this season while averaging 46 wins a season during his 11 years as a collegiate head coach with a 506-178 overall record.

The American Baseball Coaches Association Midwest Region includes the following 32 NCAA D-I programs: Air Force, Baylor, Bradley, Creighton, Dallas Baptist, Evansville, Illinois State, Indiana State, Kansas, Kansas State, Missouri, Missouri State, Nebraska, Nebraska-Omaha, New Mexico, New Mexico State, North Dakota, North Dakota State, Northern Colorado, Oklahoma, Oklahoma State, Oral Roberts, Saint Louis, South Dakota State, Southern Illinois, Texas, TCU, Texas A&M, Texas Tech, Utah Valley, Western Illinois, Wichita State.

ABCA Midwest Region Coach of the Year (since 1997)

2014 – Tim Tadlock, Texas Tech

2013 – Brad Hill, Kansas State

2012 – Steve Smith, Baylor

2011 – Dan Heefner, Dallas Baptist

2010 – Jim Schlossnagle, TCU

2009 – Brad Hill, Kansas State

2008 – Dan Heefner, Dallas Baptist

2007 – Tim Jamieson, Missouri

2006 – Rob Walton, Oral Roberts

2005 – Augie Garrido, Texas

2004 – Augie Garrido, Texas

2003 – Keith Guttin, Missouri State

2002 – Augie Garrido, Texas

2001 – Dave Van Horn, Nebraska

2000 – Dave Van Horn, Nebraska

1999 – Mark Johnson, Texas A&M

1998 – Mark Johnson, Texas A&M

1997 – Keith Guttin, Missouri State
Powered by Frankly