Rare cane collection featured at Ralls Historical Museum - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Rare cane collection featured at Ralls Historical Museum

Cane collection at museum Cane collection at museum
RALLS, TX (KCBD) -

Ralls’ founder, John R. Ralls, had a vision in mind when he began moving a number of businesses and houses from Emma to form a new town at his own expense.

He is a well-known legend in the town, but when you visit the Ralls Historical Museum, visitors can find out more about his little brother, Percy Bayard Ralls. 

Both of their parents had died by the time Percy was 15 years old.

He served in the Spanish American-War in 1899 and afterwards became a businessman

However, one of his greatest endeavors would be when he followed J.R. to West Texas in 1916.

J.R. had created the town of Ralls, and Percy joined him by building brick buildings to rent to merchants.

After J.R. died in 1921, Percy Ralls became administrator of the estate and many area residents thought he was the founder of the town.

He left behind a vast cane collection from around the world, and over a hundred of them are on display in the museum.

"Anytime anybody went anywhere, they brought Mr. Ralls back a cane for his collection," said museum employee Mary Helen Jamerson, "because they knew how much he loved them."

To find out even more history of Ralls and to see how West Texas life was like a century ago, visit the Ralls Historical Museum downtown. 

Copyright 2015 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly