Consider This: Lubbock airport fixing what isn't broken - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Consider This: Lubbock airport fixing what isn't broken

Last week Lubbock Preston Smith International Airport Manager Kelly Campbell announced a new parking area for people picking up passengers at the airport.

Instead of waiting in your car at the curb drivers are being told to park away from the airport in a "cell phone waiting area".

Ms. Campbell is frustrated at traffic congestion and the fact that Uber drivers park at the curb.

Lubbock police officers will temporarily patrol the area in front of the airport to enforce this new rule.

Consider this...Airport Manager Kelly Campbell is fixing something that isn't broken.

There is usually plenty of parking along the curb for those picking up passengers at the airport.

Making rules and spending money to build cell phone waiting areas when the airport itself is in disrepair...is a joke.

Instead of inconveniencing people picking up loved ones let's fix the leaking roof and refurbish outdated facilities.

Ms. Campbell, I encourage you to learn a lesson from Uber: concentrate on doing things that actually make your customers' lives easier.

I hope you will let the airport manager and your council representative know what you think. We've published Ms. Campbell's and the council's email addresses below:

Airport Manager Kelly Campbell - kcampbell@mail.ci.lubbock.tx.us
Mayor Glen Robertson - grobertson@mylubbock.us
District 1 Councilman Victor Hernandez - VHernandez@mylubbock.us
District 2 Councilman Floyd Price - FPrice@mylubbock.us
District 3 Councilman Jeff Griffith - JGriffith@mylubbock.us
District 4 Councilman Jim Gerlt - JGerlt@mylubbock.us
District 5 Councilwoman Karen Gibson - KGibson@mylubbock.us
District 6 Councilwoman Latrelle Joy - LJoy@mylubbock.us

RELATED LINK: New cell phone waiting lot opening at Lubbock airport

We want to know what you think. Voice your opinion by commenting below, by e-mailing us at considerthis@kcbd.com or by writing us at:

KCBD-TV Attn: Consider This
5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX 79404

'Consider This' is a commentary by KCBD Vice-President and General Manager Dan Jackson.

Copyright 2016 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly