Consider This: Make tornado sirens a priority for new city counc - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Consider This: Make tornado sirens a priority for new city council

Source: KCBD Graphic Source: KCBD Graphic

With two seats still undecided Lubbock has installed a new city council. The new council is ushered in by the severe weather season.

And once again, Lubbock's citizens are left unprotected by outdoor tornado sirens, even after sirens in Oklahoma recently saved hundreds of lives in severe weather there.

Living in Lubbock and just having passed the anniversary of our May 11th tornado, we know it isn't if a tornado hits our city, it's when.

Consider this: Public safety is job one for local government.

And I, for one, intend to hold our newly elected mayor accountable and am glad to hear he believes we need tornado sirens to protect our citizens.

For just a few million dollars the city of Lubbock can install tornado sirens that will alert Lubbockites when weather threatens.

When one considers all of the things that the city chooses to spend money on, shouldn't tornado sirens be first priority?

I urge our new council and mayor to act now before next year's tornado season.

If you agree with me write your council person and let them know.

You can contact them with the links below.

Mayor Dan Pope - dpope@mylubbock.us
District 1 Councilman Victor Hernandez - VHernandez@mylubbock.us
District 2 Councilman Floyd Price - FPrice@mylubbock.us
District 3 Councilman Jeff Griffith - JGriffith@mylubbock.us
District 4 Councilman Steve Massengale - SMassengale@mylubbock.us
District 5 Councilwoman Karen Gibson - KGibson@mylubbock.us
District 6 Councilwoman Latrelle Joy - LJoy@mylubbock.us

We want to know what you think. Voice your opinion by commenting below, by e-mailing us at considerthis@kcbd.com or by writing us at:

KCBD-TV Attn: Consider This
5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX 79404

'Consider This' is a commentary by KCBD Vice-President and General Manager Dan Jackson.

Copyright 2016 KCBD. All rights reserved.

Powered by Frankly