Tadlock named finalist for Skip Bertman Award - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Tadlock named finalist for Skip Bertman Award

Coach Tim Tadlock (Source: TTU Athletics) Coach Tim Tadlock (Source: TTU Athletics)

Provided by Texas Tech Athletics

LUBBOCK, Texas – Texas Tech head coach Tim Tadlock was named a finalist Wednesday for the Skip Bertman National Coach of the Year Award which is presented annually by the College Baseball Hall of Fame.

Tadlock, the 2014 winner of the award, is one of 10 finalists, joining Andrew Checketts (U.C. Santa Barbara), Gary Gilmore (Coastal Carolina), Kevin O’Sullivan (Florida), Greg Brown (Nova Southeastern University/Division II), Tim Scannel (Trinity University, Division III), Jeremiah Robbins (Lewis-Clark State College/NAIA), Ryan Cougill (Yavapai College/NJCAA Division I), Chris Kirtland (Jones County J.C./NJCAA Division II) and Doug Wren (Tyler J.C./NJCAA Division III).

Under Tadlock’s guidance, the Red Raiders boast a 46-18 record this season heading into their second appearance at the College World Series over the past three years. Tadlock is the only coach in Big 12 history to lead a program to Omaha twice over his first four seasons.

Tech ran away with the Big 12 title as the Red Raiders clinched their first regular-season championship since 1997 before the final weekend of league play. Tech finished 19-5 overall against Big 12 foes to win the league crown by a three-game advantage over fellow College World Series participant, Oklahoma State.

The successful season earned the Red Raiders the No. 5 national seed in the NCAA Championship, allowing Tech to host both the NCAA Regional and Super Regional rounds at home. It was the first time during the Super Regional era (1999-present) where Tech has received a national seed.

The Red Raiders survived two winner-take-all games en route to Omaha as Tech defeated Dallas Baptist, 5-3, to win the NCAA Lubbock Regional before rallying from a game-one loss to take the best of three Super Regional series against East Carolina. Tech finished 5-2 in NCAA games played in front of a sold out Dan Law Field at Rip Griffin Park.

Tech enters the College World Series with 46 wins already this season, its most since the Red Raiders went 46-14 overall in 1997. It matches the third-most wins by a Tech team in program history.

The award is named in honor of former LSU skipper Skip Bertman, who won five national championships and was named the National Coach of the Year six times from 1984 to 2001. Bertman was part of the College Baseball Hall of Fame’s inaugural class in 2006.

The Skip Bertman Award finalists and winners are selected by a national committee of active and retired coaches from all levels of college baseball. The award, which recognizes coaches at every level of college baseball, will be presented on July 2 at the annual College Baseball Night of Champions ceremony at the Overton Hotel in Lubbock.

Tech begins the College World Series with a 2 p.m. first pitch Sunday afternoon against TCU. The game will air live nationally on ESPNU.

Powered by Frankly