Five members elected to South Plains Electric Cooperative Board - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

Five members elected to South Plains Electric Cooperative Board

Provided by South Plains Electric Coop Provided by South Plains Electric Coop

Provided by SPEC

Scott Martin was elected to fill the District 10 seat on the South Plains Electric Cooperative Board of Directors at the Annual Meeting of Membership on Tuesday, September 13 at the Lubbock Memorial Civic Center. The vacancy was created when current board member, Bob Forbis of Roaring Springs, announced his retirement. Incumbents Tommy Joines from District 1, Danny Stanton from District 2, David Gossett from District 6 and Benny Nixon from District 8 were all re-elected.

Scott Martin, a farmer/rancher from Spur, received his education from Texas Tech University. He has farmed and ranched for 19 years and is also the co-owner of DC Auto in Spur. He is a member of Jayton Church of Christ, Dickens County Junior Livestock Show Committee and Texas Tech Alumni Association. Martin and his wife, Lisa, have a daughter named Tristen.

Bob Forbis retired from the Cooperative Board with 38 years of service. Forbis began his service with the former Dickens Electric Cooperative headquartered in Spur. He helped navigate Dickens Electric though the merger with South Plains Electric Cooperative in 1999 and continued to serve the membership. Forbis is a Credentialed Cooperative Director and has been an electric cooperative member for 61 years.

Joines, from Cotton Center has been on the Cooperative Board for 36 years and has served as president for 31 years. Stanton, from Shallowater, has served the Cooperative for 25 years. Gossett, from Slaton, was appointed to the Cooperative Board in 2015 after Bill Bednarz passed away. Nixon, from Lubbock has served on the Board for 29 years.

Powered by Frankly