President Lawrence Schovanec announces administrative review pro - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

President Lawrence Schovanec announces administrative review process

Texas Tech University President Lawrence Schovanec (Source: Texas Tech University) Texas Tech University President Lawrence Schovanec (Source: Texas Tech University)
LUBBOCK, TX (KCBD) -

"Texas Tech University will initiate an external administrative review of policies and procedures within the Texas Tech University police department, following the death of Officer Floyd East Jr., a member of the university’s police force, earlier this week. In light of the tragic loss of life that we have experienced, it is appropriate that we conduct a post-event review process that will include a thorough review of our policies and practices to enhance the safety and security of our students, our police and the entire campus community. 

"The members of the Texas Tech Police Department provide exemplary service to our university in a professional manner. This review in no way diminishes the great appreciation we have for the excellent job they do."

"Also, because the shooting death involves one of our officers, we have asked the Lubbock Police Department to serve as an independent law enforcement agency to perform the criminal investigation."

  • Local News on KCBD.comNewsMore>>

  • Bus crash in Ecuador kills 24 people, injures 19

    Bus crash in Ecuador kills 24 people, injures 19

    Tuesday, August 14 2018 9:08 AM EDT2018-08-14 13:08:05 GMT
    Tuesday, August 14 2018 10:13 AM EDT2018-08-14 14:13:18 GMT
    Ecuadorean officials say at least 23 people died and another 14 were injured when a long-distance bus overturned on a highway near Ecuador's capital.Ecuadorean officials say at least 23 people died and another 14 were injured when a long-distance bus overturned on a highway near Ecuador's capital.

    Ecuadorean officials say at least 23 people died and another 14 were injured when a long-distance bus overturned on a highway near Ecuador's capital.

    Ecuadorean officials say at least 23 people died and another 14 were injured when a long-distance bus overturned on a highway near Ecuador's capital.

  • Trump lashes out at Omarosa, calls her 'that dog'

    Trump lashes out at Omarosa, calls her 'that dog'

    Tuesday, August 14 2018 12:26 AM EDT2018-08-14 04:26:12 GMT
    Tuesday, August 14 2018 10:08 AM EDT2018-08-14 14:08:12 GMT
    (AP Photo/Evan Vucci, File). FILE - In this Feb. 1, 2017, file photo, President Donald Trump, center, is flanked by White House staffer Omarosa Manigault Newman, left, and  then-Housing and Urban Development Secretary-designate Ben Carson as he speaks ...(AP Photo/Evan Vucci, File). FILE - In this Feb. 1, 2017, file photo, President Donald Trump, center, is flanked by White House staffer Omarosa Manigault Newman, left, and then-Housing and Urban Development Secretary-designate Ben Carson as he speaks ...

    Beyond their war of words, the row touched on several sensitive issues in Trump's White House, including a lack of racial diversity, security in the executive mansion and a culture that some there feel borders on paranoia.

    Beyond their war of words, the row touched on several sensitive issues in Trump's White House, including a lack of racial diversity, security in the executive mansion and a culture that some there feel borders on paranoia.

  • breaking

    22 dead, 13 injured in bridge collapse in Italy

    22 dead, 13 injured in bridge collapse in Italy

    Tuesday, August 14 2018 10:07 AM EDT2018-08-14 14:07:59 GMT

    Rescuers are using heavy machinery to move chunks of concrete to search for victims. The bridge fell onto structures, a railway and a roadway below.

    Rescuers are using heavy machinery to move chunks of concrete to search for victims. The bridge fell onto structures, a railway and a roadway below.

Powered by Frankly