Local Contractor Files Complaint Over Holiday Inn Express - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

8/9/05

Local Contractor Files Complaint Over Holiday Inn Express

A local contractor has filed a complaint with the city over structural integrity concerns at the Holiday Inn Express.

You remember, the hotel voluntarily closed in early February due to dangerous structural designs. It re-opened when the city checked those issues and declared them resolved. Contractor Don Hicks, however, says the city allowed the hotel to build in violation of its own building codes.

"All I want the city to do is fess up that they have deviated from their own standards, the ordinances, and the things they were sworn to uphold," said Hicks.

Steve O'Neal, the city's chief building inspector, said he has a copy of the complaint but has not read it. Even so, he says that engineers have examined the building and determined that it is safe.

4/8/05
Holiday Inn Express Re-Opens After Being Closed for Safety Issues
The Lubbock Holiday Inn Express started accepting guests again just hours after they were allowed to re-open after being closed nearly 2 months due to major structural problems.

  • Local News on KCBD.comNewsMore>>

  • Weekend Outlook: Nice Saturday, Fire Weather returns Sunday

    Weekend Outlook: Nice Saturday, Fire Weather returns Sunday

    Saturday, March 25 2017 7:57 AM EDT2017-03-25 11:57:35 GMT
    Saturday, March 25 2017 7:57 AM EDT2017-03-25 11:57:35 GMT
    We are starting off the weekend cool, but warmer temperatures are on the way along with a break from high winds today. Sunday we will a combination of warm temperatures and southwesterly winds sustained at 20-30 mph in the afternoon hours. With high temperatures, low relative humidity values and high winds, we will see the return of an elevated risk for wildfires.
    We are starting off the weekend cool, but warmer temperatures are on the way along with a break from high winds today. Sunday we will a combination of warm temperatures and southwesterly winds sustained at 20-30 mph in the afternoon hours. With high temperatures, low relative humidity values and high winds, we will see the return of an elevated risk for wildfires.
  • Epic collapse of GOP health care bill puts effort into limbo

    Epic collapse of GOP health care bill puts effort into limbo

    Saturday, March 25 2017 4:18 AM EDT2017-03-25 08:18:31 GMT
    Saturday, March 25 2017 4:18 AM EDT2017-03-25 08:18:31 GMT

    The failure of House Republicans to repeal and replace Barack Obama's health care law was nothing short of an epic, self-inflicted collapse.

    The failure of House Republicans to repeal and replace Barack Obama's health care law was nothing short of an epic, self-inflicted collapse.

  • US immigration judge grants asylum to Singapore teen blogger

    US immigration judge grants asylum to Singapore teen blogger

    Saturday, March 25 2017 3:39 AM EDT2017-03-25 07:39:44 GMT
    Saturday, March 25 2017 3:39 AM EDT2017-03-25 07:39:44 GMT

    An immigration judge in Chicago has granted asylum to a Singapore teen whose online posts criticizing his government landed him in jail.

    An immigration judge in Chicago has granted asylum to a Singapore teen whose online posts criticizing his government landed him in jail.

Powered by Frankly