TTU Regents Name Advisory Chancellor Search Committee - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

get more>> Web Enhanced 3/16/06

TTU Regents Name Advisory Chancellor Search Committee

Texas Tech is moving forward with its search for a new chancellor. Thursday, the Chancellor Search Committee of the Board of Regents named an eighteen member Advisory Committee to assist in selecting the next chancellor. The Advisory Committee will work with the Search Committee to identify potential candidates and assist with initial screenings of candidates.

The following 18 people have been named to the Advisory Committee.

  • Dr. William "Jay" Conover , a Horn Professor and Professor of Statistics in the TTU Rawls College of Business
  • Margaret Duran , director of the TTUHSC Office of Student Services
  • Dr. Pamela Eibeck , dean of the TTU College of Engineering
  • Alan Henry , A Lubbock businessman, former mayor of Lubbock and current president of the Texas Tech University Alumni Association
  • Carey Hobbs , a Waco businessman, former Texas Tech regent and former member of the Texas Higher Education Coordinating Board
  • Lance Hughes , a Texas Tech alum from Austin who chairs the Texas Tech Foundation's Campaign Subcommittee
  • Mike Liner , chair of the University Medical Center Health System Board of Managers and president of City Bank in Lubbock
  • Ann Manning , a partner and board certified attorney in labor and employment law with McWhorter, Cobb & Johnson Law Firm in Lubbock and an alumna of Texas Tech University and TTU School of Law
  • Dr. Rod Narin , executive vice president for academic affairs and dean of the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences at TTUHSC
  • Dr. German Nunez , TTUHSC vice president for diversity and multicultural affairs, professor of Physiology and clinical professor of Family and Community
  • John Field Scovell , a Texas Tech alum and Dallas businessman who was a celebrated football letterman and whose three sons were football players for Texas Tech
  • Marsha Sharp , TTU Associate Athletic Director and Head Coach of the Lady Raider basketball team
  • Jerry Smith , a Dallas alum who heads an accounting and management services firm and is a member of Texas Tech's Investment Advisory Committee
  • Dr. Richard Verrone , president of the TTU Staff Senate, assistant archivist at the Vietnam Archive, adjunct professor in the Department of History, and an instructor in Humanities in the Honors College
  • John Walker , a Houston businessman who is a 2004 Distinguished Alum and a 1987 recipient of the Outstanding Entrepreneur Award from the TTU Rawls College of Business
  • James Watkins , a Horn Professor and assistant dean for undergraduate studies in the TTU College of Architecture who is also an internationally renowned artist in ceramics

The new chancellor will fill a vacancy left in January when Dr. David Smith announced his resignation. Former Tech President Dr. Donald Haragan is serving as interim chancellor.

Get the latest Texas Tech news, sports information and more at RaiderZone!

Powered by WorldNow

5600 Avenue A
Lubbock, TX. 79404

FCC Public File
EEO Report
Closed Captioning

All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 Worldnow and KCBD. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service.