Lubbock-Cooper Junior Wins 2007 Miss TFB Crown - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock


Lubbock-Cooper Junior Wins 2007 Miss TFB Crown

A junior from Lubbock Cooper High School and District FFA president won Saturday's Miss Texas Farm Bureau crown at the 74th annual convention of the state's largest farm organization.

Janae Jones, the 17-year-old daughter of Roy and Annette Jones of Lubbock, receives a $2,000 scholarship along with her crown. Although she says she hasn't yet decided which college or major to pursue-she's fairly certain it will be Texas Tech or Texas A&M and something involved with agriculture communications or business-Jones says she hopes to someday work with the American Quarter Horse Association.

A total of 13 girls from around the Lone Star State compete in the annual competition, each having won the right to represent her respective county and Farm Bureau state district.

Runner-up in the Miss TFB contest was Loni Woolley, 17, a senior at Grandview High and the daughter of Larry and Leslie Woolley of Grandview in Johnson County. She wins a $1,500 scholarship and plans to attend Texas Tech and study animal science before entering the business world as a meat quality assurance manager or an organizational lobbyist.

Woolley is the current Texas 4-H Council State President, and is active in several high school organizations.

Others competing this year's contest were Shelby Wilson of Dallam County, Sydney Thiele of Baylor County, Brittany Sullivan of Camp County, Samantha Morrow of Nolan County, Chandra Dean of McCulloch County, Sara Jackson of Lampasas County, Amanda Maclin of Tyler County, Jessica Conlen of Hays County, Dalin Woolery of Montgomery County, Alicia Caballero of Karnes County and Lora Gonzalez of Hidalgo County. Each receives a $1,000 scholarship for competing at the state level.

Source: Texas Farm Bureau For Your Mobile Devices
Get the latest news, weather, sports and more on your mobile phone or PDA with

Powered by Frankly