Mike Leach Named Co-Big 12 Coach of the Year

Texas Tech Head Coach Mike Leach picked up co-Big 12 Coach of the Year honors Tuesday in a vote by the Big 12 Conference's coaches. The honor is the first such for Leach in his nine years and he shares the award with Oklahoma's Bob Stoops.

Leach led the Red Raiders to an 11-1 mark during the regular season and the program's highest national ranking in school history at No. 2. The Red Raiders are currently No. 7 nationally and are awaiting the postseason bowl announcements Sunday. The 11 wins set a school record for regular-season victories, while the Red Raiders' 7-1 Big 12 mark set a program record for conference wins.

WR Michael Crabtree was named to the first team for the second-straight season, after catching 93 passes for 1,135 yards and 18 touchdowns. He also set a school record in the regular-season finale with 3,097 career receiving yards. Defensively, DE Brandon Williams and FS Darcel McBath garnered first-team honors. Williams led the Big 12 with 11 sacks on the season and ranks third at Tech on the career sacks list with 20.5. McBath was the league leader with six interceptions, including three against Kansas.

Three Red Raiders were named to the second team offense, including RB Shannon Woods, OL Louis Vasquez and OL Rylan Reed. Woods averaged 83.3 all-purpose yards per game and was one of the team's leading scorers with 14 touchdowns, including 12 rushing. Vasquez and Reed provided the nation's best protection as QB Graham Harrell was sacked only 11 times in 568 pass attempts. Reed allowed one sack all season. SS Daniel Charbonnet picked up second-team honors on defense after posting five picks on the season, including three against SMU. He also returned an interception for a touchdown in Tech's win over then-No. 1 Texas.

Players earning honorable mention status include RB Baron Batch, OL Brandon Carter, DE McKinner Dixon, LB Brian Duncan, C Stephen Hamby, Harrell, DB Jamar Wall, DL Colby Whitlock, LB Marlon Williams and OL Marlon Winn.

Source: TTU