Leach Picks Up Second National Honor

Mike Leach
Mike Leach

A day after claiming the George Munger Award from the Maxwell Football Club, Texas Tech Head Coach Mike Leach has been named the winner of the Woody Hayes Award, presented annually by The Touchdown Club of Columbus to the nation's top collegiate coach. Leach led the Red Raiders to a share of the Big 12 South title in 2008.

Leach also is a finalist for the Paul "Bear" Bryant coaching award and was a finalist for the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award.

The Touchdown Club of Columbus also named wide receiver Michael Crabtree is Paul Warfield Award winner, the second-straight season the sophomore has claimed the honor.

Texas Tech, ranked seventh in the BCS poll, rose as high as No. 2 this season, its highest in school history. The program's 11-1 record marks the best regular season in school history, while the Red Raiders' 7-1 conference record also is a program best. Under Leach's guidance, Texas Tech leads the nation in passing for the sixth time in the last nine seasons and boasts the most All-Americans in a single season in school history.

Quarterback Graham Harrell, wide receiver Michael Crabtree and offensive linemen Brandon Carter and Rylan Reed all earned All-America first-team status this season. The only time Texas Tech has placed more than one player on an All-America first team was in 1995, when Zach Thomas and Marcus Coleman were named on the defense.

Leach and his accomplished staff of assistant coaches are preparing the Red Raiders for the AT&T Cotton Bowl, Texas Tech's ninth bowl appearance under Leach and the third post-New Year's bowl during the same stretch. The Red Raiders are 5-3 in bowls during Leach's tenure, and the five wins match the number of bowl wins during the program's 75 seasons prior to Leach's hiring in 2000.

The Woody Hayes Award is named for the legendary Ohio State coach and will be presented at the 54th Annual Touchdown Club of Columbus Sports Awards banquet Sat., Feb. 7, 2009, at The Lifestyle Communities Pavilion in Columbus, Ohio. Crabtree also will receive the Paul Warfield Trophy the same evening.

Source: AP

get more>> Web Enhanced
"100% Cotton" Bowl Coverage
Click here for all of your Cotton Bowl Coverage as the Red Raiders are set to take on Ole Miss.