Harrell Named Co-National Player of the Year

Senior quarterback Graham Harrell added to his collection of postseason awards today as he shared The Sporting News' 2008 National Player of the Year honors with fellow Big 12 quarterbacks Sam Bradford of Oklahoma and Colt McCoy of Texas.  Sophomore wide receiver Michael Crabtree was named to The Sporting News' 2008 All-America First-Team for the second straight season.

"It's a tremendous honor to be named the national player of the year," said Harrell. "I want to thank everyone at The Sporting News for recognizing just how difficult the Big 12 was this season and especially the Big 12 South."

Harrell, the senior signal caller from Ennis, has led the Red Raiders to their best season in school history and along the way re-written both the Texas Tech and NCAA history books. His 15,429 career passing yards make him the most prolific passer in school history and second most ever in the history of the college game. He enters the Cotton Bowl game needing just two more touchdown passes to make him the NCAA's all-time leader in TD tosses which is currently held by Hawaii's Colt Brennan (2005-07) at 131.

Alongside Harrell on The Sporting News' All-America team is teammate and standout wide receiver Michael Crabtree who garnered first-team honors for the second straight season.  Crabtree, the 2007 and 2008 Biletnikoff Award winner from Dallas, is now a unanimous consensus All-American for the second straight year thanks to today's honor by The Sporting News.

Texas Tech battles Ole Miss on Jan. 2 in the 2009 AT&T Cotton Bowl.

Source: TTU