Senator Duncan wants your opinion on a smoke-free Texas - KCBD NewsChannel 11 Lubbock

3/5/09

Senator Duncan wants your opinion on a smoke-free Texas

Robert Duncan Robert Duncan

LUBBOCK, TX - (KCBD) Should Texas be smoke-free in all public places, including restaurants and bars? Senator Robert Duncan wants to know what you think.

Just like last session, the Texas Legislature is looking at a state-wide smoking ban. He says the proposed legislation lawmakers are considering affects all Texans. "One of the things that has my interest is the enormous cost to all of us for treating diseases related to cigarette smoking. I'm not talking about Medicaid and Medicare, but I'm talking about the increase to insurance premiums that we all pay to subsidize the healthcare for those who have smoking related illnesses," says Duncan. 

Duncan says there are problems with this type of legislation and some very strongly oppose it. He says, last session he wasn't convinced it was the proper direction for Texas, but this year he is considering it very closely, but wants your input.

Click here to e-mail Duncan's office.

Tell us what you think...
KCBD.com Message Boards
Sound off on news or current events on our message boards!

  • Local News on KCBD.comNewsMore>>

  • Hurricane Maria smashes Dominica, now menaces Puerto Rico

    Hurricane Maria smashes Dominica, now menaces Puerto Rico

    Tuesday, September 19 2017 12:12 AM EDT2017-09-19 04:12:30 GMT
    Tuesday, September 19 2017 9:43 AM EDT2017-09-19 13:43:51 GMT

    Hurricane Maria threatens Caribbean islands already wrecked by Hurricane Irma and holds the chance of a direct hit on Puerto Rico.

    Hurricane Maria threatens Caribbean islands already wrecked by Hurricane Irma and holds the chance of a direct hit on Puerto Rico.

  • German WWI U-boat found off Belgium with 23 bodies inside

    German WWI U-boat found off Belgium with 23 bodies inside

    Tuesday, September 19 2017 6:42 AM EDT2017-09-19 10:42:13 GMT
    Tuesday, September 19 2017 9:43 AM EDT2017-09-19 13:43:28 GMT

    Belgian regional authorities say an intact German World War I submarine has been found off the coast of Belgium and contains the bodies of 23 people.

    Belgian regional authorities say an intact German World War I submarine has been found off the coast of Belgium and contains the bodies of 23 people.

  • Trump, the 'America First' president, goes to the UN

    Trump, the 'America First' president, goes to the UN

    Tuesday, September 19 2017 3:52 AM EDT2017-09-19 07:52:10 GMT
    Tuesday, September 19 2017 9:43 AM EDT2017-09-19 13:43:24 GMT

    The president was expected to stand before world leaders and a global audience and declare that U.N. members, acting as a collection of self-interested nations, should unite to confront global dangers, according to aides previewing his speech.

    The president was expected to stand before world leaders and a global audience and declare that U.N. members, acting as a collection of self-interested nations, should unite to confront global dangers, according to aides previewing his speech.

Powered by Frankly