TTUHSC School of Medicine announces $20.5 million in new 2018 research grants

TTUHSC announces grant funding

The Texas Tech University Health Sciences Center announced Thursday that more than $20 million in research grants have been awarded to the medical school.

The grants come from a number of sources, including the Department of Defense, the National Institutes of Health and the National Cancer Institute.

Dr. Tedd Mitchell, Texas Tech interim chancellor and President of the TTUHC, said this about the awards, “This is an opportunity for us today to actually look at some of the specific researchers that are doing things that are receiving national attention. That, for us as a university, helps propel our mission forward.”

Bottom line, it means these grants are giving researchers at the Texas Tech School of Medicine new tools to make an impact with new discoveries.

Dr. Steven Berk, Dean of the TTU School of Medicine, explained the work of the research teams, “They’re looking at most things on a molecular level. But what they definitely have in mind is curing diseases down the road. That’s what this is all about.”

And for many of the doctors receiving this grant money, it means more than a million in dollars and in support, ensuring that each can continue their study for many years.

Grants include:

Sanjay Awasthi, M.D., Department of Defense, $1,147,500.00 over three years, “Prevention of Breast Cancer by Haploinsufficiency of RALBP1”

Patrick Reynolds, M.D., Ph.D., and Min Kang, Pharm.D., NIH/NCI, $2 million over five years, “MYC Activation in Tumor Progression of Neuroblastoma” and also NIH/NCI, $1,622,266 over three years, “Characterization of a panel of neuroblastoma patient-derived models for preclinical therapeutic studies”

Reynolds, also received an NIH/NCI, $1,749,940 over five years

"Alternate telomere maintenance mechanisms in high-risk neuroblastoma as prognostic indicators and therapeutic targets"

H. Liang, Ph.D., CPRIT, $200,000 over two years

"Polymer nanodiscs: Novel lipoprotein-mimicking nanocarriers with high stability and long circulation time for enhanced anticancer drug delivery"

Yangzom Bhutia, Ph.D., NIH, $153,000.00

"Carbidopa as an inhibitor of the TrpT/IDO1 complex: Potential for use as an immunotherapy agent?"

H. Liang, Ph.D., NSF, $457,931 over three years

"Nanostructure engineering is another approach toward membrane-active antimicrobials with desirable activity and selectivity"

Lan Guan, Ph.D., NIH NIGMS, $1,300,500 over five years

"Integrated approaches to symport mechanisms of membrane transporters"

Luis Cuello, Ph.D., NIH, $1,247,868 over five years

"High-resolution crystallographic and functional studies of potassium channel function"

Volker Neugebauer, Ph.D., NIH/NINDS, $1,536,123.00 over five years

"Stress-induced descending facilitation from amygdala kappa opioid receptors in functional pain"

Josée Guindon, Ph.D., NIH from NIDA, $691,332.00 over five years

"Mechanisms of cannabinoid tolerance"

Ion Bobulescu, Ph.D., NIH/NIDDK, 1,047,717.00

"Role of gut bacteria and renal lipids in obesity-related kidney disease"

Susan Bergeson, Ph.D., and Ted Reid, Ph.D., NIH/NIAAA, $60,000 over one year, “Development of Tetracycline Analogs for Alcohol Use Disorder Treatment,” and NIH/NIAAA, $1,639,120.00 over five years, “Chemically modified minocycline for treatment of alcohol use disorder”

Andrey Karamyshev, Ph.D., NIH/NINDS, $153,000.00 over two years

"Identification of Translational Regulators of Alpha-Synuclein Folding and Aggregation"

Sam Prien, Ph.D., NSF, $50,000

“A non-invasive technique for embryo assessment”